Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

Bloomer’s Ronnie Rihn Captures SLM Feature Win!

Posted under News by Wayne Brevik on July 18th, 2011


Fairchild, WI, July 16, 2011 – The threat of rain and the warm – humid conditions did not keep the faithful fans and drivers away from the ½ mile paved oval here tonight on Mid-Season Championship night at Marshfield Motor Speedway.


The super late models hit the track in their 35-lap feature event.  Eau Claire’s Ben Pettis jumped out to the early lead fending off challenges from Chris Grimes, Jordan Thiel, and Ronnie Rihn.  On lap 18, the Pettis machine was caught by #29, Bloomer’s Ronnie Rihn. A few laps later, point leader Randall Wilhorn also eclipse the race car of Ben Pettis.  With Rihn holding a 5-car advantage on Wilhorn and Pettis, Wilhorn had about 15-laps to run down and pass the machine of Rihn.  By lap 30, Wilhorn was noticeably closing on the lead machine of Rihn.  Also, Jordan Thiel was starting to close on the car of Pettis for third.  In the end however, Ronnie Rihn crossed the finish line first a car length ahead of Wilhorn for the win.  Ben Pettis also held of Thiel for the third position.  Jason Weinkauf came home in the fifth position.  Weinkauf also took home top honors in qualifying.  Marshfield’s Dean LaPointe won the Dash 4 Cash, while Jordan Thiel and LaCrosse’s Don “Thunder” Turner took home heat wins.


The bounty that promoter Wayne Brevik put on Ryan Hinner did not seem to affect the young driver from Stevens Point.  Hinner earned fast time honors with a lap time of 19.975 and also pocketed fast heat honors.  In the CWSSA super stock feature event, Ryan Hinner was looking to make it six feature wins in a row!  Bryan Langreck, the only other driver to win this year at MMS, led the first lap.  Hinner was able to work his high- powered #23 machine around the competition to earn the top spot on the second lap.  Natalie Decker worked herself to the runner up spot on the second lap.  Once Decker was able to get around Langreck for the second position, Hinner was able to put a 5-car length lead on Decker and the rest of the field.  As the feature event progressed, Natalie Decker closed slightly on Hinner.  But again tonight, it was all Ryan Hinner as he took home another feature win at Marshfield Motor Speedway.  Natalie Decker came home second with Joe Nowak, Bryan Langreck, and Nick Erickson rounding out the top five.  Next week, Tom Loos Photography has added $100 to the already $125 bounty, making it an extra $225 for anyone beating Ryan Hinner and as long as Hinner completes all laps in the feature event. 


The 4-Cylinders took to the track once again tonight with Don Dunow holding a slim 3-point lead on Steve Hauser.  Steve Hauser set fast time tonight with a lap time of 22.879.  Mike Dixon and Steve Hauser pocketed wins in heat action.  In the 4-Cylinder feature, it was Ron Sischo holding the early lead.  Mike Dixon was able to get around Sischo for the lead on lap two and held the lead until lap five.  That was when Steve Hauser powered his way into the lead bringing Don Dunow with him.  Hauser fended off challenges from Dunow and Dennis Goetsch for the race win.  With Dunow and Goetsch finishing second and third respectively, Derk Hauser and Mike Dixon rounded out the top five finishing order.


Once the Bandits took to the track for their feature event, Harry Bell grabbed the early lead.  On lap seven, Bell and Tim Anderson got together bringing out the caution.  On the restart, Charlie Nickel held the point.  With two laps remaining, Bell once again grabbed the lead away from Nickel.  Once the white flag flew indicating one lap remaining, Harry Bell and Tim Anderson were running nose to tail with each other.  Coming out of turn four to get the checkered flag, Bell noticeably slowed as Anderson was looking to edge by Bell on the inside.   Bell came down the track trying to protect his position and with Anderson having his momentum built up, went to the inside of Bell and the two drivers got together with Harry Bell losing control of his Bandit.  With the contact rule in effect, Chili, WI driver Charlie Bell was awarded the win.  Harry Bell finished second with Tim Anderson finishing third, and Wausau’s Brandon Aschenbrenner coming home in fourth.


Next week it is Kid’s Night with many kid’s giveaways!  Also, it will be the Bill Sherman Memorial Night at the races.  Fan gates open at 4:30, qualifying at 5pm, with racing action beginning at 6:30 pm.