Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

Eilen Builds Point Lead with Marshfield 100 Win

Posted under Race Reports by Wayne Brevik on July 2nd, 2012


July 2, 2012 – Point leader Jonathan Eilen took home the checkered flag for his first victory of 2012 in the ASA Midwest Tour presented by SCAG Power Equipment and Lester Buildings. Eilen had the lead three times throughout the night and led the most important lap. Not only did he take home the win, but Eilen also won the “Big Dog” bonus putting an extra $1200 dollars in his pocket and the Touring Star Bonus of $1000 taking home a total of $5200.

Marshfield area native, Mark Kraus and point leader Jonathan Eilen led the 22 car field to the green. Eilen took off to the early lead as Kraus moved to the outside with Jeff Storm trying to make a move on the inside.

As Eilen continued to lead the field, Kraus and Storm battled it out for second. The top three started to pull away from the rest of the field. The first caution flag flew on lap 8 as the #8 of Jacob Goede drifted high and came to a stop in turn one.

As the green flag fell, Eilen continued to hold the point with Storm on the outside. Storm was making a charge holding it side-by-side and taking the lead on lap 10. Eilen continued to challenge Storm not letting him get out of his sights.

As the top two began to pull away, Kraus was holding off Cardell Potter, Chris Wimmer and Skylar Holzhauzen for third. The battle was still for the lead as the two battle side-by-side lap after lap. Potter continued to make a run at Kraus for third but Wimmer stuck his nose under Potter giving Kraus the opportunity to pull away. Wimmer finally took the spot away and set his sights on Kraus for third.

Last year’s winner Jason Weinkauf was running in the 11th position biding his time as the field reached the 25 lap mark. The caution fell on lap 26 for Ryan Hinner with a flat tire. During the caution, Jason Weinkauf pulled into the pit area.

Eilen continued to chose the bottom while Storm chose the top as the field lined up to go to green. Skylar Holzhausen went three wide at the restart moving himself into the third spot and making a run for the second. Skylar took the second spot from Storm on lap 30 and set his sights on Eilen.

Travis Sauter had moved himself into the fifth spot. Holzhausen took the lead from Eilen on lap 32 and tried to distance himself. The rest of the field was beginning to stretch out. Jonathan Eilen was not giving up, diving back under Holzhausen, but he could not get it done.

As the two battled up front, Chris Wimmer was trying to close the gap as Sauter moved his way into fifth. Nathan Haseleu and Chris Weinkauf were methodically making their way running in the top ten battling it out for the sixth spot. The caution flew on lap 46 as Nick Panitzke slowed in turn three.

Holzhausen chose the inside with Eilen on the outside at the restart. Travis Sauter started behind Eilen. Chris Wimmer took over second while Sauter continued to try to get around Eilen for third. As the field hit halfway it was Holzhausen, Wimmer, Eilen, Sauter, and Kraus in the top five.

Chris Weinkauf broke into the top five taking the spot from Kraus on lap 55. The top five were strung out as the middle of the pack continued to battle for position.

With about 30 laps to go, Jonathan Eilen started to make a charge back into second getting around Wimmer.  Holzhausen was maintaining a straightaway lead. With 20 laps to go, Sauter was trying to use the inside line.  Holzhausen got caught up in traffic, but it was not enough for Eilen to gain much on him.

Skylar Holzhausen slowed on the backstretch with only 17 laps to go handing the lead back over to Eilen. Wimmer and Sauter now rounded out the top three.

With ten laps to go, Eilen stretched out his lead as Sauter continued to work on Wimmer for second. Sauter finally took the spot from Wimmer for second.

Jonathan Eilen took home his first win of 2012 stretching out his point lead.

Be sure to follow the ASA Midwest Tour on Facebook (asamidwesttour) and Twitter (@asamidwesttour).

To learn more about the ASA Midwest Tour presented by SCAG Power Equipment and Lester Buildings, log on to For questions call the ASA Midwest Tour office at (630) 212-6022 or Tim Olson at (612) 327-5831 or e-mail Tim Olson at or Steve Einhaus at

To learn more about the Daytona Beach, Florida-based Racing Speed Associates or the American Speed Association® Racing Member Track program, call (386) 258-2221 or send an e-mail to For news and information from racetracks and regional tours involved in the American Speed Association®, visit

The CWMSA 4-Cylinders took to the track in their 20-lap feature event with Brad Schulze and Tyler Raab leading the way.  Shulze grabbed the early lead but it was brief as Mike Dixon took over the helm on lap two.  Tim Anderson took over second place and held that spot for five laps.  Anderson, who calls Auburndale, WI home, grabbed the lead from Dixon on lap six.  Anderson’s lead was brief as Charlie Nickel grabbed the lead on lap seven, and never looked back.  The real race was for second as Anderson and Steve Hauser battled.  With Charlie Nickel building a sizable lead, Steve Hauser finally got by Anderson with two laps remaining and held on for second.  With Anderson finishing third, Derk Hauser and Ricky Brandl finished fourth and fifth respectively.  Nickel also tripped the clock fastest earning fast time honors.  Tim Anderson and Steve Hauser won their respective heats.

Corey Stephens and Ryan Polansky led the Bandit feature to the green flag in front of a large crowd at Marshfield Motor Speedway.  Stephens and Polansky took turns leading as Stephens would lead the first four laps and Polansky the next three.  On lap seven, Phil Malouf decided it was his turn to lead.  Randy Polansky put pressure on Malouf for the race lead, however, Malouf was able to outlast Polansky for the race win.  Stephens, Dan Nickel, and Brian Hudson rounded out the top five finishers.  Malouf also took home checkers in the heat and was also the evening’s fast qualifier.

Cliff Eckes was the top rider in Motorcycles.  Eckes won both his feature and heat races.

Next week, Marshfield Motor Speedway will host to Military Appreciation Night.  All military, past/present with military card admitted free! Also, we will be honoring one of our former race fans as it will be Chuck Dougherty Memorial Night at the races. Fan gates open at 4:30, with qualifying at 5pm and racing beginning at 6:30.  Super Late Models, Super Stocks, 4-Cylinders, Bandits, and Motorcycles will be apart of the racing excitement.