Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC


Posted under News by Wayne Brevik on July 4th, 2011


By Kari Shear-Carlson
July 4, 2011 – On Saturday night, the American Speed Association® Kwik Trip Midwest Tour presented by ECHO Outdoor Power Equipment and GrandStay Hospitality got the Fourth of July weekend off to an explosive start at Marshfield Motor Speedway in Marshfield, WI.

For the second time this year, the feature event has gone caution free and a local driver has taken the victory away from the ASA Midwest Tour stars. Jason Weinkauf of Merrill, WI led from lap 14 to the checkered flag. Weinkauf qualified ninth and started on the inside of the second row.

A 26-car field filled with ASA Midwest Tour stars and local favorites took to the track for the 100 lap feature event. Carver, Minnesota’s Jacob Goede set the stage for the night with the ECHO Quick Cut Fast Qualifier award. Goede topped the chart with an 18.212. Rookie contender, Skylar Holzhausen followed with an 18.235. Eugene Gregorich Jr. was the final driver to make it into the feature event on time with an 18.468.

The 2011 season has been one of the most competitive to date. In all six events so far this season, the ASAMT has seen top contenders fail to qualify and have to run the last chance race or take uncharacteristic provisionals. On Saturday night, ASA Midwest Touring Stars, Nathan Haseleu, Ross Kenseth, Michael Bilderback and Jeff Storm all had to run in the last chance race.

Haseleu and Kenseth earned the two first transfer spots. Kris Kelly of Norway, MI, local driver, Ronnie Rihn, and West Allis, Wisconsin driver, Gary LaMonte were the final three to race in. Jeff Storm and Michael Bilderback each took an ASAMT provisional and Dean LaPointe received the Marshfield provisional.

Storm made the most of his provisional starting spot. While it may not be his best finish, Storm did receive the Hedman Husler Hedders Hard Charger award, passing the most cars (eight) during the 100 lap event. Bilderback finished 21st and LaPointe finished 22nd.

Matt Tifft, the youngster from Hinckley, OH, started on the point and led the field to the green. Schendel started on the outside of the front row and battled with Tifft side-by-side for the first few laps. Schendel was able to keep his nose ahead at the line and officially led the first five laps.

Tifft came back and took the lead on lap six, but was only able to hold on until lap 14, when Weinkauf powered past him. Weinkauf never looked back and won his first ever ASA Midwest Tour event. His only challenger was Nick Murgic who started outside of Weinkauf. Murgic came within a few car lengths periodically throughout the race, but just did not have enough in the end.

Andrew Morrissey once again finished in the top ten and continued to close the point margin. Jacob Goede is another driver who cannot be counted out this season. Goede has been running in the top ten all season and came home in sixth on Saturday night.

Travis Sauter also had a really good run. Sauter started in sixth and was able to hold on and finish in fifth after all was said and done. Ross Kenseth struggled a little bit on Saturday. He did not qualify into the event and finished 14th. Steve Carlson finished in 10th.

Andrew Morrissey has been one of the most consistent drivers on the Tour this year. Morrissey has qualified into every event and is wracking up the points in his heat races and consistent top ten finishes. Heading into Marshfield, Kenseth had an 11 point lead over Morrissey.

Even though Ross Kenseth has won three out of six races so far this season, the way the point system is structured in the ASAMT, he was unable to maintain his point lead heading into the next event. Morrissey qualified seventh, won his heat and finished fourth on Saturday night taking over the point lead by 18 points.

Skylar Holzhausen leads the rookie point standings with 782. Joel Theisen is second with 706 points.

In Super Stock action, Kyle Wolosek earned his first pole award by tripping the clock quickest at 20.218.  Ernie Schlough was second and Ryan Hinner 3rd.  Hinner captured the heat win with Schlough powering his #45x car to second.  In feature action, it was Hinner holding off Schlough for the win.  Kyle Wolosek finished third with Natalie Decker, Bryan Langreck, and Bruce Stanley rounding out the top 6.

Harry Bell set fast time in the Bandit Division with a lap time of 23.926.  Charlie Nickel took home top honors in the Bandit heat.  In Feature action, it was once again Harry Bell taking home the checkered flag with Tim Anderson coming home in second. Charlie Nickel finished third with Christine Schmude taking fourth and Dan Nickel coming home in fifth.

Midwest Mod 4’s took to the track once again at Marshfield Motor Speedway and Adam Eckes earned the pole award with a time of 22.454.  Eckes also capture heat win honors with Phil Malouf taking second and Brandon Herr third.  In feature action, it was all Phil Malouf as he earned a popular win at MMS.  On lap 5 caution came out with a spin in turn one.  While under caution, the Eckes intentionally hit the Malouf machine and was disqualified from further racing at MMS tonight.  With Malouf winning, Greenwood’s Brandon Herr took the runner up position.

Next week at Marshifeld Motor Speedway, it will be the second leg of the Yellow River Racing Series with a special 60-lap fearure event.  Joining the YRRS Super Late Models will be the Super Stocks, 4-Cylinders, Midwest Mod 4’s, Bandits, and the always excing Motorcycles!