Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

Mark Eswein Earns SLM Feature Win at Marshfield

Posted under Race Reports by Wayne Brevik on June 3rd, 2013

Cory Kemkes, Phil Malouf, Tim Anderson, & Eric Robinson Take Home Feature Events!


Marshfield, WI, June 1, 2013 – Race fans were treated to an exciting night of racing, here tonight, at Marshfield Motor Speedway!  It was the AL-KUL Performance Radiators 51, an annual special event for the Super Late Models.

Once the Super Late Models took to the track for their 51-lap feature event, it was Lacrosse, WI veteran, and heat winner, Don “Thunder” Turner leading the way.  Turner fought off early challenges from Claire Decker and Amanda Ferguson.  Nine laps into the feature event, it was Jim Sauter, Jr. edging by Turner for the top spot. Last week’s feature winner, Eugene Gregorich, Jr. would follow suit, with an inside pass off turn two, to gain the runner up position.  Gregorich, Jr. now had his sites set on Sauter, Jr.  Fast qualifier Mark Eswein was closing in on the two front runners in a hurry.  On lap 16, Eswein was able to nudge by both, Sauter and Gregorich.  Elk Mound, WI driver Ben Pettis appeared top possibly have the fastest car on the track.  Pettis was able to run down the leaders and get by a very fast Sauter car by lap 20.  Unfortunately, Pettis had to exit the race on lap 23 with ignition problems.  Pettis stated, “It’s the same issue we had last week and basically on the same lap.”  Pettis further stated, “the car was extremely fast tonight, I really think we had something for Mark Eswein.”  One of the best battles on the track was that for 5th place.  Don Turner, Paige Decker, Amanda Ferguson, and Claire Decker, were all side by side for the spot.  Eventually, it was Claire Decker gaining the advantage.  However, at the front, it was all Mark Eswein!  The Wisconsin Rapids, WI driver was once again at his best tonight.  Eswein covered the field by 5 car lengths over Gregorich, once starter Geno Eckes threw the checkered flag.  Finishing a strong third and getting caught up in lapped traffic early on, was Jim Sauter, Jr.  Claire Decker and Paige Decker rounded out the top five respectively.  Earning top honors in the Napa Dash 4 Cash, was Florida’s Amanda Ferguson.  Eswein and Turner were the SLM heat winners for the night.

1. Mark Eswein

2. Eugene Gregorich, Jr.

3. Jim Sauter, Jr.

4. Claire Decker

5. Paige Decker

6. Amanda Ferguson

7. Don Turner

8. Dean LaPointe

9. Cory Kemkes (LLM)

10. Alex Stumpf (LLM)

11. Brian Goodwin (LF Body Damage)

12. Ben Pettis (Ignition)

13. Jack Greenwood

14. Ryan Hinner (Ignition)

15. Eric Connell


Super Stocks were once again on the docket tonight and it was Phil Malouf leading the way to the green flag in the 20-lap feature event.  Malouf felt heavy pressure from Marv Flick, but was able to slam the door on Flick’s efforts.  Last week’s feature winner Eric Buchholz and Ernie Schlough had a great battle for third through out the feature event.  Schlough, who earlier in the evening tripped the clock fastest in qualifying, would earn the third spot over Buchholz.  Out front tonight, it was all Phil Malouf.  Malouf fended off all challenges, here tonight, and earned the Super Stock feature event.  Marv Flick finished a very respectable runner up position, with Ernie Schlough taking third.  Eric Buchholz and Aaron Anderson rounded out the top five.


The always exciting 4-Cylinders were here again tonight to compete on the 1/2 mile paved oval of Marshfield Motor Speedway.  During the week, MMS had a contest to give the 4-Cylinders a Title Name.  Sharon Hauser’s entry was selected and the 4-Cylinders will be named the X-Treme 4’s.

Setting fast time this evening was Auburndale’s Tim Anderson.  Anderson clocked in at 21.796 seconds.  Scott Ciesielski and Tim Anderson earned heat wins for the X-Treme 4’s.  In feature action, Charles Dixon took the field to the green flag.  Dixon would lead early, but gave way to Charlie Nickel by lap three.  Nickel stretched his lead to 5 car lengths by lap 7.  Rick Brandl took over the runner up position with Anderson fast approaching.  By lap 7 of the 20 lap feature event, Anderson took second place away from a fast Rick Brandl.  Anderson finally got to the back bumper of Nickel by lap 15.  The two drivers of Nickel and Anderson ran side by side for the lead.  Eventually, Nickel gave way to Anderson for the race lead.  Tim Anderson pocketed his second feature win of the year, with Charlie Nickel finishing third.  The rest of the top 5 was Steve Hauser, Derk Hauser, and Rick Brandl.

1. Tim Anderson

2. Charlie Nickel

3. Steve Hauser

4. Derk Hauser

5. Rick Brandl

6. Phil Malouf

7. Chuck Dixon

8. Scott Ciesielski

9. Jeff Behrens

10. Justin Mondeik

11. Brandon Herr

12. Christine Schmude

13. Adam Eckes


Bandits hit the track again tonight and it was once again, Eric Robinson earning top honors in qualifying.  Kevin Burris crossed the finish line first in the Bandit heat.  Eric Robinson and Corey Stephens finished second and third respectively in the heat action.  Once the Bandits took to the track for their feature event, it was Corey Stephens leading the way.  Stephens’ lead was short lived however, as Kevin Burris grabbed the top spot on lap two.  Burris would lead several laps, but it was Robinson taking over the helm by lap four.  Robinson would hold off Burris, for yet again, another feature win.  With Burris finishing second, it was Corey Stephens, Nikki Coulhorst, and third generation driver Dillion Mackesy rounding out the top five.


Marshfield Motor Speedway’s next event will be the first leg of the Yellow River Racing Series, a special 75-lap feature event for the Super Late Model’s on June 15th.  It will also be Kid’s Night with bike giveaways and kid’s stock car rides!

For more information on future events at Marshfield Motor Speedway, join us on Facebook, Twitter, or online at