Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

Marshfield Eagles Club Hosts MMS Awards Banquet

Posted under News by Wayne Brevik on November 20th, 2009

November 13, 2009:  Marshfield, WI – With nearly 300 drivers, sponsors, employees, car owners, and fans present, Marshfield Motor Speedway held its 2009 awards banquet at the Marshfield Eagles Club.

Friends gathered at 5:30 for an hour of social time.  At 6:30, the very delicious dinner was served by the ladies of the Eagles, with Bud Beaudry leading the prayer.  Awards were presented at 7:30, to all the honorees of the 2009 Marshfield Motor Speedway race season.

General Manager/Promoter Wayne Brevik thanked everyone for all their hard work and patience throughout the season.  Brevik then announced that before he turned the microphone over to Master of Ceromonies Michael Barrett, he wanted to personally thank the recipients of the Sportsmanship Awards.  Brevik further mentioned that the Sportsmanship Awards that were to be awarded, were the “most important awards” of the evening.  Drivers and race teams of each division received such award.  In the Super Late Model division, the Jay VanDerGeest race team received the sportsmanship award.  Representing the Super Stocks was  Erin Schlough, with Don Dunow receiving the sportsmanship award for the Four Cylinders.  Kyle Genett and Chad Kaser received the awards in the Pure Stock and Junkyard Warrior divisions respectively.

Newly crowned track champion Jason Weinkauf took home top honors in the Culver’s of Marshfield Super Late Model Division.  Weinkauf also took home the Kings Campers Hard Charger Award, and the MMS Dash 4 Cash championship.

Winning the track championship in the D & D Amusement Games Super Stock division was sophomore driver, Colin Reffner.  Reffner also pocketed the Kings Campers Hard Charger Award, and the MMS Dash 4 Cash championship.

Taking the stage and accepting the 2009 track championship trophy in the Four Cylinder division was Nekoosa driver Randal Wilhorn.  Wilhorn, whom of which has a very bright future in racing, gave special thanks to his father for his success.

Another driver with great potential, is that of Ryan Mork.  Mork captured the 2009 top honors in the Pure Stock division.  Mork is currently in college to become a police officer, and also gave thanks to his step father for all his success.

Taking home the hardware and winning the 2009 track championship in the Junkyard Warrior division, was Tim Anderson. 

Other awards presented at the awards banquet was the Most Improved Driver Awards and the Rookie of the Year Awards.  Most improved drivers for the 2009 season were, Chad Selk, Mark Langreck, Randal Wilhorn, and Chad Kaser.  Rookie of the Year awards were presented to Parker May, Erin Schlough, Peter Bell, Jake Capek, and Star Phelps.

Stratford, Wisconsin residents Bob, Bev, and Brandon Aschenbrenner, were presented the Marshfield Motor Speedway 2009 Racing Family of the Year Award.

After serving 32 years as a very dedicated employee, Marshfield’s Janet Wilotoski was the recipient of the 2009 MMS Employee Appreciation Award.  Janet’s dedicated service is greatly appreciated!

Receiving the Marshfield Motor Speedway 2009 Crew Chief of the Year Award, was Mr. Ray Weinkauf.  Ray was very gracious and gave thanks that he is able to spend time with his boys, nightly in the shop!

In closing, GM/Promoter Wayne Brevik gave thanks to Michael Barrett for doing a fine job as MC, Tom Loos for his continued support of the race track, Ed Gerl for the wonderful job he does video taping, and all his employees for their hard work throughout the year.