Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

Mid American Series Joins Super Late Models on Back to School Special at Marshfield Motor Speedway

Posted under News by Wayne Brevik on August 25th, 2010


Fairchild, WI; August 25, 2010 – Fans, sit back and enjoy what should be another great night of racing action at Marshfield Motor Speedway. The Mid American Series adds to an already exciting show as they join the Super Late Models, Super Stocks, 4 Cylinders, Junkyard Warriors, and Bandits.  Hold on, ladies, yes it is your turn as well!  You will have your opportunity to show your skills as you battle other ladies in our Powder puff races!

The Mid American Series joins the regulars at Marshfield Motor Speedway as they compete in the rescheduled Heart of Wisconsin 40.  Richfield’s Bill Prietzel will look to retain his point lead and notch his third win of the season.  Chasing Prietzel in the point standings is Wausau, Wisconsin’s Lyle Nowak.  Nowak, who trails Prietzel by a mere 23 points, will be one of the fan favorites.  Another two-time winner this year and fast wherever he goes, is that of Brookfield, Wisconsin driver Mark Pluer.  Pluer notched wins at both Rockford Speedway (IL) and Wisconsin Dells.  Vesper, Wisconsin native Brian Back has to be the favorite to end up in victory lane.  Back, who sits fourth in points, has the most experience on the ½ mile paved oval.  Another driver to be dealt with is the most recent winner on the tour, Tyler Bauknecht of Reedsville.  Bauknecht captured the July 24th race at Dells Raceway Park.  Other favorites looking to put their cars in victory lane are past winner James Swan, Lake Mills, Wisconsin driver Scott Null, whom of which just competed at Marshfield in the ASA Sportsman show, and Eagle River, Wisconsin driver Paige Decker.  Decker has competed at Marshfield Motor Speedway several times this year and has become a fan favorite.

Jim Sauter, Jr. will be looking to cut into Jason Weinkauf’s point lead when the two drivers battle in their Super Late Models.  Other drivers that have been fast this year and are looking for their first wins of the year are, Chad Selk, Adam White, Dean LaPointe, and Ben Pettis.  Jay VanDerGeest may be the hottest driver in Central Wisconsin.  VanDerGeest is the most recent feature winner and has been close to notching wins on  several other occasions.  Rookie Ronnie Rihn also has chalked up a feature win and will look to add a second.  With the season championship just over a week away, this Saturday night will prove to be very exciting in setting up for championship night!

Other point battles of interest Mike Gwidt, Erin Schlough, and Randall Wilhorn in the D&D Amusement Games Super Stocks, Derk & Steve Hauser in the 4 Cylinder division, Gary Haarklau and Coletta Gomes in the Junkyard Warriors, and Harry Bell and Tim Anderson in the Bandit class.

Drivers, listed online is the entry form for the Annual Fall Shootout.  Drivers must reply by September 4th to secure your slab and early entry fee.  There will be 13 divisions competing at this year’s Fall Shootout!

Qualifying this Saturday will begin at 5pm with racing at 6:30 pm.  Kids, don’t miss out on our back to school special.  Each kid will receive a back to school gift this Saturday, so grab mom and dad and come out and enjoy a great night of family fun!