Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC


Posted under News by Wayne Brevik on July 10th, 2011


Fairchild, WI, July 9, 2011 – It was another great night of racing action at Marshfield Motor Speedway as fans and drivers were plentiful for the second leg of the Yellow River Racing Series.


Marshfield’s Dean LaPointe led the Yellow River Racing Series Super Late Models to the green flag in the 60-lap feature event.  LaPointe battled off LaCrosse, WI driver Don “Thunder” Turner for the early lead.  Six laps into the feature event, local hot shoe Chad Selk made the inside pass of Turner to earn the runner up position.  LaPointe, who made some major changes to his hot rod this week, looked extremely fast! On lap 19, Selk made the inside pass of LaPointe as LaPointe slipped slightly off turn two.  On the same lap, last week’s ASA Midwest Tour winner, Jason Weinkauf made the turn three pass of Jordan Thiel for the third position.  Chad Selk continued to lead until lap 37, which was when Merrill’s Jason Weinkauf made the outside pass of Selk on the front stretch.  With Weinkauf enjoying a three-car length lead, Mark Eswein and Cardell Potter battled for the fourth spot.  Once starter Patrick Barrett threw the checkered flag, it was Jason Weinkauf holding off a very impressive Chad Selk and Dean LaPointe for the win.  Cardell Potter and Mark Eswein finished fourth and fifth respectively.  Weinkauf also took home top honors in qualifying with Jordan Thiel winning the Dash 4 Cash.  Heat winners were Ben Pettis and Chad Selk.


CWSSA Super Stocks once again took to the track and it was once again Ryan Hinner tripping the clock fastest with a lap time of 20.061.  Hinner edged Natalie Decker for the Dash 4 Cash win.  Hinner fought off Erin Schlough to earn top honors in the heat.  Once the super stock drivers took to the track for feature action, one of Hinner’s strongest competitors, Erin Schlough, lost his engine in warm up laps.  Paige Decker took the early lead and held the point until Ryan Hinner made the inside pass off turn two.  Once that occurred, it was all Ryan Hinner as he captured another feature win, at Marshfield Motor Speedway.  Paige Decker finished second with Matt Pyburn coming home in third. Rounding out the top five were Kyle Wolosek and Natalie Decker.


One of the most exciting divisions of racing is the 4-Cylinders as they always put on a great show for the Marshfield faithful.  Steve Hauser walked away tonight with fast time tripping the clock at 22.933.  Don Dunow and Paul Berg won their respective heats setting up a very competitive feature.  Mike Dixon took the early lead from his second row starting position and held the top spot until lap nine.  Paul Berg, making his 2011 debut at MMS, made the pass of Dixon for the lead.  Dennis Goetsch made several attempts at cutting into Berg’s lead.  However, it was all Paul Berg tonight as he put his number 01 machine into the Draxler’s Victory Lane.  With Goetsch finishing second, Derk Hauser came home in the third position.  The balance of the top five finishers was Mike Dixon and Steve Hauser.


Harry Bell once again proved to be fastest tonight as he set fast time with a lap time of 23.758 in the Bandit Division.  Bell also earned heat win honors.  In feature action, Tim Anderson edged his way past Bell on lap four and held on for the feature win.  Charlie Nickel finished third with Isaiah Rowe finishing fourth.


Next week it is the Chuck Dougherty Memorial Race with all divisions competing.  It is also Medical and Professional night at the races.  Residents from Clark and Jackson Counties will be admitted free!  Visit us online at for further information.