Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

4th Annual Fall Spectacular Concludes Marshfield Season

Posted under Race Reports by Chris Budzban on September 18th, 2004

By Mary Langreck

September 17-18, 2004; Marshfield, WI: – The Fourth Annual Fall Spectacular race weekend was the first that was graced with great weather both days for the drivers and fans. Friday night’s race winners were Mark Eswein and Chris Weinkauf in the twin Super Late Model features. Dan Gilster picked up the Super Stock feature win. Keith Wirtz claimed another 4-Cylinder feature and Pat Dickman took the 1-Man Cruiser feature. Saturday night’s 78 Lap Super Late Model feature was won by Steve Holzhausen with Jim Sauter Jr. and Brian Back taking the wins in the twin Last Chance races. The Limited Late Model feature was won by Neil Knoblock and Doug Herbst won the Street Stock feature.

Friday night the first Super Late Model feature started out with Adam Degenhardt leading. By lap ten Mark Eswein came from the back to the front to take the lead. Degenhardt held onto second, fast timer Steve Holzhausen third, Jason Weinkauf fourth and John Totzke Jr. fifth. Burton Brown led just over half of the second Super Late Model feature. Chris Weinkauf passed him for the lead on lap 13. Lap 15, Gary Back took second from Brown. Weinkauf won, Gary Back second, Brown third, Brian Back fourth and M.G. Gajewski fifth.

Dan Gilster took charge of the lead for the Super Stock feature for the win. Corey Jankowski picked up several spots to take the second position. Fast timer Tim Hintz who started twelfth moved up to finish third. Larry Schultz took the fourth spot with Jim Kruschke fifth. Scott Havlicek, John Olson, Jimmy Gilster, Chad Scholl, Brian Schmutzer and Wayne Meyer finished the top six in the semi to advance to the feature.

Paul Berg led the first six laps of the 4-Cylinder feature until Keith Wirtz took the lead for the win. Greg Blount moved up to take the second spot with Jeremiah Strauss third, Berg fourth and JJ Flick fifth. Rob Barthen and Bill Kolb took the top spots in the first semi and Adam Eckes and Dan McGiveron in the second semi all four advanced to the feature.

Wayne Dietz led a couple of laps in the 1-Man Cruiser feature. Pat Dickman then took the lead for the win. Dave Knauf took second, Dietz third, Marcus Marti fourth and Justin Moore fifth.

The first Super Late Model last chance was won by Jim Sauter Jr. Burton Brown took second and Mark Mackesy third. The second Super Late Model last chance was won by Brian Back. John Totzke Jr. finished second, Jesse Haase third. All six advanced to the feature race.

The start of the 78 Lap Super Late Model feature was plagued with several cautions. Once under way, Judd Brand led the first two laps. Mark Eswein then took the lead, but nine laps later relinquished it to Steve Holzhausen. Jason Weinkauf, Adam Degenhardt and Ben Pettis all traded spots in the top five for the first part of the race. Gary Back was able to break into the top five on lap 52. Holzhausen continued to hold the lead with Eswein waiting for the chance to take it away. Holzhausen led the field lap after lap holding Eswein at bay. Holzhausen took the win, Eswein second, Jason Weinkauf third, Pettis fourth and Gary Back fifth.

The Limited Late Model feature lap one was led by Tom Gee. Brent Zastrow then led the next 12 laps. Mike Merriam took the lead on lap 14. A caution on lap 16 for a spin in turn four, and Zastrow was forced to pit due to mechanical difficulties. Merriam held the lead with Gee and Neil Knoblock. With only four laps to go, Knoblock took the lead for the win. Merriam second, Tom Gee third, Blake Horstman fourth and Mike Ehde fifth.

Doug Herbst came from last to first to win the Street Stock feature. Joe Monti finished in second, Gary Kasperek third, Duane Myszka fourth and James Annak fifth.

There was an awesome showing of IMCA Oldtimers. With four divisions racing and drivers from as far as Florida and California. The grudge match race between Chris Loberg and Jerry Sullivan was won by Sullivan. Lou Fegers picked up the win in his division both nights with his1971 Midget. Jerry Sullivan also won back to back features with his 1979 USAC Dirt Champ Car. Vaughn Gerke picked up the win Friday night’s third feature in his 1957 Chev and on Saturday Chuck Faulkner took the win in his 1968 Nance 100″. Bill Gefre won the stock car division Friday night and Saturday Tom Stettner won the last feature in his 1957 Chevy.

The final event of the 2004 Season will be held on Friday, October 22. The awards banquet will be held at the Eagle’s Club in Marshfield. Please contact the speedway for tickets at 715-384-8325.