Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

Baldry Dominant in MARS Enduro-Style 100 at Marshfield

Posted under Race Reports by Chris Budzban on August 31st, 2002

August 31, 2002; Marshfield, WI: – Terry Baldry took the lead from Jeff Weinfurter on lap 31 and survived a plethora of caution flags to win the Planet Pages Midwest AllStar Racing Series late model feature Saturday night at the Marshfield Super Speedway. Merle Weinfurter topped the 20-lap Carquest Super Stock feature race while Josh Schoenick won the legend car main event.

Baldry’s victory moved him into the points lead for the series as Nathan Haseleu, who had held the advantage, dropped out of the 100-lap main and was credited with 17th place. The night’s feature event was dotted with caution flag periods. In all the race was slowed 10 tmes due to spins and crashes as just seven of the 22-car starting field completed the race. Five of those running at the end were on the lead lap as many drivers ran out of fuel late in the event. The race took one hour and thirty-five minutes to complete.

Baldry’s victory was his second of the season at the half-mile oval as he had won the season opening event at Marshfield back in April. Wayne Breitenfeldt and Chris Weinkauf led the field to the green flag with Breitenfeldt taking the lead. The first yellow flag came out on the second lap when Steve Rubeck and Jim Duchow made contact going into turn one. Duchow’s car was sent into the outside wall and he would be out of the race.

On lap five the yellow came back out when Tony Strupp and Haseleu made contact in turn three scattering the field. Before a lap could be scored it was Tim Rothe coming to rest on the track, ending his night.

Breitenfeldt’s run at the front ended on lap nine when Weinkauf nosed around to take the lead. Weinfurter and Baldry followed through to take second and third, respectively. Weinfurter moved by Weinkauf on lap 19 to garner the lead and would hold it until Baldry drove around for the top spot.

Weinfurter’s race was slowed as he had a part of the sway bar break and he would end up dragging it around the track. Weinfurter would eventually drop out of the race on lap 95 when he ran out of fuel.

Baldry would cruise to the win with Eric Fransen moving to the second spot and finishing there, about three car lengths behind the winner. Tony Strupp’s wild race, in which he found himself in the trees off of turn two on a lap 51 yellow flag, ended with a third place finish. Breitenfeldt finished in the fourth spot followed by Judd Brandl. Rounding out the top ten were Clint Sillars, Kevin Beyer, Rubeck, Dan Mills, and Weinfurter.

In CARQUEST Super Stock action, Matt Raykowski and Jared Back shared the top spot for the first six laps of the 20-lap main. Raykowski eventually cleared the machine of Back on lap seven for the race lead, with Andy Simonis running in the third spot.

On lap 12, with Raykowski, Simonis, and Tim Plowman leading the way, caution flew for the first time as Brian Stroik and Steve Borski got together in turn one.

Once the race resumed with eight laps remaining, Tim Plowman made contact with race leader Matt Raykowski exiting turn two. Unfortunately, Raykowski and Plowman had to join the rear of the field for the restart due to the contact rule.
Veteran driver Merle Weinfurter powered by Andy Simonis on the restart to become the new race leader. Caution would fly for a third and final time as Jared Back looped his car in turn two. Many drivers did a masterful job avoiding the spinning car of Back.

The race resumed with a single file restart with Merle Weinfurter, Shawn Stelzer, and Andy Simonis leading the way. Weinfurter, who also won qualifying with a lap time of 20.186, pulled out to a four-car length lead over Stelzer and Simonis. With Weinfurter extending his lead, a four-way battle for the second position was heating up. Marshfield drivers’ Cale Laessig and DuWayne Davis moved up from their mid-pack starting positions and began putting heavy pressure on Stelzer and Simonis.

As the four cars battled side-by-side for the second position, Merle Weinfurter was running away with the show. Weinfurter motored on to score a very popular feature win with the large Marshfield crowd. Finishing second in a tightly packed group, was Shawn Stelzer. Andy Simonis, DuWayne Davis, and Cale Laessig rounding out the top five.

In a very exciting Legends feature, 12 cars took the green for the 20-lap main event.

Dan McGiveron led the way for the first four laps being closely followed by Eric Lokemoen and Russ Weiler. On lap five, McGiveron pushed up the track coming out of turn two allowing Weiler to move up to the top spot. By lap seven, Weiler stretched his lead to six-car lengths over Dean Fisher and Lokemoen.

At the midway point of the race, Fisher moved to the inside of Weiler exiting turn four and made the pass for the race lead. Larry Will made his way from the back of the field, moving into the third position passing Lokemoen.

It was Fisher, Weiler, and Will, 1, 2, 3, respectively, with five laps remaining. The battle for the top spot heated up in a hurry as Will and Fisher battled side-by-side to the checkered flag. In a photo finish, it was Fisher winning by inches over Will in a hard fought race. Russ Weiler finished a strong third.

Larry Will holds a seven-point lead over Russ Weiler for the track championship. Josh Schoenick trails Will by 10 points.
In the always exciting Bumper-to-Bumper Cruiser feature, Travis Zvolena passed nine cars to lead lap one with Josh Bell running second. Scott Havlicek, who started 12th in the field, moved into the second position on lap two.
With five of 14 laps completed in the main event, caution flew as Scott Havlicek spun to avoid a lapped car entering turn one.

Once the race resumed, Zvolena increased his lead on Havlicek to three-car lengths, with Wayne Meyer holding down the third spot. The race stayed that way until lap seven when Shawn Carpenter spun his Buick in turn one.
Marshfield driver Travis Zvolena, once again pulled out to a comfortable lead once the race resumed. With Zvolena leading the way, and Havlicek running second, point leader Josh Elmhorst worked his way into the third position passing Wayne Meyer in turn two.

With five laps remaining in the Cruiser main event, Zvolena’s lead had shrunk significantly as Havlicek pulled up to the back bumper of Zvolena. Neillsville’s Havlicek, looked to the inside of Zvolena’s machine several times trying to make the pass. However, the two machines were equally prepared and Travis Zvolena went on to win the exciting feature event. Havlicek, who earlier in the evening won qualifying, finished a strong second. Josh Elmhorst, Josh Bell, and Pat Dickman rounded out the top five.

Josh Elmhorst holds a 24-point lead over Travis Zvolena for the track championship with two point races remaining.
The action continues at the Marshfield Super Speedway on Saturday night, September 7 with the Third Annual Eve of Destruction event. Motorcycle racing, Cruiser Racing, Forward/Backward events, Tire Races, plus stunts by “Hot Rod” Rodney Feltz will attempt to jump over seven cars and smash through a motorhome with a limousine. Plus much more. Time Trials 6:30pm and the show begins at 7 p.m.

The 2002 season championship will take place on Saturday night, September 14th with the second Fall Spectacular coming on Friday and Saturday, September 20 and 21. The track is located three miles west of Marshfield on Highway H. For more information contact the track office at (715) 384-8325.