Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

Ben Pettis Nabs Super Late Model Feature Win at MMS

Posted under Race Reports by Wayne Brevik on July 8th, 2012


Marshfield, WI – July 7, 2012 – It was a glorious night for the race fans and drivers alike tonight at Marshfield Motor Speedway!  The hot/humid air was out of the area, and Mother Nature provide a beautiful night of racing!

It was Military Appreciation Night at Marshfield Motor Speedway, with all Military members admitted free.  The Wisconsin National Guard was visiting MMS and had their cannon and climbing wall in full action!

Wisconsin Rapids driver Jeff Weinfurter claimed the early lead in the 35-lap feature event.  Weinfurter would hold that lead with Ernie Schlough running second, for nearly the first 18 laps.  At that time, Schlough took over the top spot with a pass of the leader Weinfurter.  Schlough’s lead was short however, as Ben Pettis earned the top spot with the pass of Schlough.  Cory Jankowski followed Pettis through and claimed the second spot, with Schlough falling to third.  Jankowski tried numerous times to eclipse the lead of Pettis with strong runs through the corners.  However, it was Pettis that out powered the Jankowski machine off the corners, and earned his first feature win of the year at Marshfield Motor Speedway. Jankowski, who earlier in the evening won his heat, finished second.  Ernie Schlough, whom of which was racing for the first time this year in his familiar #45 machine, finished third.  Jeff Weinfurter and fast heat winner Paige Decker, rounded out the top five.  Kyle Genett earned top honors in the Napa of Marshfield Dash 4 Cash, with Ryan Hinner taking home fast qualifying honors.

1. Ben Pettis

2. Cory Jankowski

3. Ernie Schlough

4 Jeff Weinfurter

5. Paige Decker

6. Kyle Genett

7. Chad Selk

8. Don Turner

9. Jim Sauter, Jr.

10. Dean LaPointe

11. Tim Hintz

12. Jack Greenwood

13. Ryan Hinner

14. John Totzke, Jr.

The CWSSA Super Stocks visited MMS once again tonight, and it was Phil Malouf taking the early lead.  Malouf held the lead for the first four laps.  On lap 5 of the 20 lap event, it was Kyle Wolosek taking over the point.  Natalie Decker moved to the second position with Claire Decker to third.  However, on this night, it was all Kyle Wolosek in his DeBoer Transportsation #16 stock car, winning the Super Stock feature event! With Natalie and Claire Decker finishing second and third, it was Malouf and Bruce Stanley rounding out the top five. Claire Decker tripped the clock fastest in qualifying, with Natalie Decker winning the fast heat.

1. Kyle Wolosek

2. Natalie Decker

3. Claire Decker

4. Phil Malouf

5. Bruce Stanley

6. Brian Weinfurter

New comer, Charlie Nickel was looking to steal another feature win away from the rest of the club drivers.  But Mike Dixon and others were looking to notch a win in CWMSA feature action.  With Don Dunow leading the way into the second lap, Danielle Behn, Jeff Behrens, Charlie Nickel, and Derk Hauser collected each other in the middle of turns 3 & 4, bringing out the caution flag.  With these drivers out of the race, it was Charles Dixon taking the top spot away from Dunow. Dixon would hold that spot for four laps, but that was when Mike Dixon decided it was his turn to lead the way.  Dixon, in his D & D Amusement Games stock car, would lead the rest of the way as his car was handling well through all corners.  Steve Hauser made the pass of fast qualifier Tim Anderson with four laps remaining to notch the second spot.  With Anderson claiming the third position, Charles Dixon and Don Dunow rounded out the top five. Rick Brandl and Derk Hauser captured heat wins.

1. Mike Dixon

2. Steve Hauser

3. Tim Anderson

4. Charles Dixon

5. Don Dunow

6. Rick Brandl

7. Derk Hauser

8. Charlie Nickel

9. Jeff Behrens

10. Danielle Behn

Randy Polansky was looking to make it a clean sweep in the Bandit Divsion as earlier in the evening, he claime fast time and heat honors.  Corey Stephens and Dan Nickel swapped leads in feature action, but on lap 6, it was Randy Polansky taking the lead for good and notching the feature win, and taking home the sweep!  Corey Stephens made it interesting however, and he got to the inside quarter panel of Polansky at the start/finishline!  Eau Claire, WI driver Brian Hudson claimed the third spot.  Dan Nickel and Christine Schmude rounded out the top five.

1. Randy Polansky

2. Corey Stephens

3. Brian Hudson

4. Dan Nickel

5. Christine Schmude

6. Garrett Thicke

Next week, the second leg of the Yellow River Racing Series will be in action, a special 65-lap Super Late Model feature event! CWMSA 4-Cylinders & Bandits will also be in racing action!  V & H Heavy Trucks of Marshfield will be sponsoring the Bill Sherman Memorial Night.  Also, it is Immanual Lutheran Church night at the races!

Next week, July 14th, pit gates open at 2:00 pm, fan gates at 4:30 pm, with qualifying at 5:00 pm and racing at 6:30 pm.

Please visit us online, or on Facebook or Twitter for all the up to date information of our coming events!