Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

Drost Scores Super Late Victory in Marshfield Opener

Posted under Race Reports by Chris Budzban on April 26th, 2003

April 26, 2003; Marshfield, WI: – Thousands of fans poured in to see the first racing action of the season here at the Marshfield Super Speedway. The WIFC Security Health Cancer FREE Night allowed fans to attend the races free of charge as long as each person made a minimum $1 donation towards finding a cure for cancer.

Jeff Van Oudenhoven in the Super Late Model division came out and turned quick time in under 18 seconds. Steve Borski of Amherst was the Super Stock quick timer. Dave Keays of Menomonie bested the Legends division with a 21.340. Travis Zvolena of Marshfield was the Cruiser fast timer.

The 25 lap CARQUEST Super Late Model feature was quickly under caution after only one lap completed. Leaders Bob Danes and Wayne Mackesy got together driving through turns 3&4 causing the whole 20 car field to scramble for a way through the corner. Danes, Jay VanDerGeest, and Danny Heinritz were unable to finish the race due to the damage to their machines.

Rodney Brewe then inherited the lead. He held of veteran driver Pete Kempf until lap 12. Rory Melbinger, Doug Drost and Judd Brandl had worked their way through the field and into the top five. Fast timer Jeff Van Oudenhoven was also moving to the front and was third when the caution flew on lap 16. When the race resumed, Kempf held the lead and Van Oudenhoven passed Brewe for second. Laps 18, 19 and 20 the caution was out again. Drost got the lead and held out for the win. Melbinger came in behind in second, Mark Mackesy third, Wayne Mackesy fourth and Judd Brandl fifth.

Larry Schultz grabbed the lead in the CARQUEST Super Stock feature and held on for the win. Matt Raykowski held second behind him until the checkered flag lap when Randy Emmerich passed him for second and Tim Plowman passed him for third. Raykowski held on for fourth and rookie driver Kyle Davis finished fifth.

The Legends 20 lap contest was led the first nine laps by 14 year old Andy Hanson. Eric Lokemoen took the lead and kept it through three caution flags for the win. Elliott Weiler starting deep in the field was in fifth by lap six and quickly moved into second behind Lokemoen. Tim Brockhouse raced within the top five the majority of the contest, moved into third behind Weiler. Quick timer Dave Keays found his way into fourth and Josh Schoenick recovering from a caution worked his way back to fifth. Lokemoen won, Weiler second, Brockhouse third, Keays fourth and Schoenick fifth.

Randy Meyer led four laps of the Cruiser feature until he had mechanical problems and pulled into the pits. Mike Dodson then took over and never looked back. Fast timer Travis Zvolena finished a strong second, Ed Hofmann third, Ken Meyer fourth and Justin Moore fifth.

Join us again next week for another night of exciting racing action. Grandstand gates open at 5 p.m., Miller Time Trials at 6 p.m. and racing starts at 7:30. Next week’s racing is sponsored by American Asphalt and features CARQUEST Super Late Models, CARQUEST Super Stocks, 4-Cylinders and Cruisers. There is no Sunday raindate. Marshfield Super Speedway is located 3 miles West of Marshfield on County Trunk H.