Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

Eckes Holds Off Anderson for X-Treme 4’s Feature Win

Posted under Race Reports by Wayne Brevik on August 13th, 2013


Fairchild, WI, (August 10, 2013) – Chuck Dougherty Memorial Night would prove to be very exciting to the fans in many ways!  With the Tundra Super Late Models in house, along with the very exciting X-Treme 4’s, CWSSA Super Stocks, and Bandits competing, fans were certain to get their admission’s worth here tonight at MMS!

In qualifying for the X-Treme 4’s, Tim Anderson edged Steve Hauser with a lap time of 22.209 seconds. Heat winners tonight was Rick Brandl holding of Brandon Herr in the first heat, and in the second heat, Adam Eckes edged by Derk Hauser for the race win.

In feature action for the X-Treme 4’s, Brandon Herr jumped out to the early lead, but Herr’s lead was brief as Adam Eckes motored by Herr down the back stretch for the lead on lap two.  Danielle Behn moved to second for several laps, but once Tim Anderson cleared Behn for second, he set his sites on a very fast Eckes for the top spot.  However tonight, it was all Adam Eckes as he out distanced Anderson for the feature win.  With Anderson finishing second, it was Derk Hauser, Steve Hauser, and Phil Malouf rounding out the top five.  Rick Brandl, Brandon Herr, Danielle Behn, Christine Schmude, and Charles Dixon finishing 6th through 10th.

CWSSA Super Stocks appeared tonight with a small car count, but nonetheless, always manage to put on a good show.  Tonight, it was Phil Malouf holding off Marv Flick for the feature win.  Aaron Anderson, who finds himself second in championship points, finished third in tonight’s feature.  Malouf also pocketed fast time honors and credited with the heat win.

In what is one of the tightest point battles of the year at Marshfield Motor Speedway, Kevin Burris and Eric Robinson relish the thought of becoming track champion.  The battle between the two drivers will certainly come down to the final race of the year.

Kevin Burris tripped the clock fastest is his Bandit hot rod.  Burris turned a fast lap time of 23.291.  Eric Robinson countered Burris fast time honors with a heat win.  Once the Chuck Dougherty Memorial feature  race took to the track, it was Eric Robinson jumping out to the early lead.  Robinson knew it was important to get out to the lead before Burris, as the two cars are very similar in speed.  Burris did grab second as he traveled by Nikki Coulthurst on the third lap.  Burris cut into Robinson’s lead, and was able to get to the tail section of Robinson.  However, it was Robinson fending off the challenges of Burris winning the feature event.  With the feature win, Eric Robinson took a one point lead over Kevin Burris for the point championship lead.  Nikki Coulthurst was able to hold off Eau Claire, WI driver Brian Hudson for third, with Hudson ending up in the fourth position.

Marshfield Motor Speedway is off this Saturday, but will continue their racing action on August 24th.  This night should prove to be a very exciting night; Not only are the Super Late Models in action, Limited Late Models, Super Stocks, X-Treme 4’s, Bandits, and Pure Stocks will be in action.  Yes, six divisions of racing slated for the night!  Pure Stocks will be making their debut at MMS on August 24th, and with a car count at a minimum of 12 cars, the will be racing for $1000 to win!  Marshfield Motor Speedway will keep their fans updated with the entry list for both, Limited Lates, and Pure Stocks.  You will be able to obtain that information online at or, on Facebook!