Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

Eswein and Schultz Take Championship Night Wins, Brandl and Plowman Take Track Titles

Posted under Race Reports by Chris Budzban on September 14th, 2003

September 14, 2003; Marshfield, WI: – The rain on Saturday washed out any chance of racing, the show was moved to Sunday night. The Coca-Cola Season Championship night saw Chris Weinkauf earn fast time honors in the CARQUEST Super Late Models. Shawn Stelzer quick timer in the CARQUEST & Coca-Cola Super Stocks. 4-Cylinder point leader Keith Wirtz was fastest and Rodney Feltz showed the way in the 1-Man Cruiser division.

After all the racing events were completed and points tallied, the 2003 CARQUEST Super Late Model Champion is Judd Brandl. Tim Plowman is the 2003 CARQUEST & Coca-Cola Super Stock Champion. Last year’s 4-Cylinder champion wrapped it up again for 2003, Keith Wirtz. The 1-Man Cruiser 2003 Champion is Travis Zvolena.

Jay VanDerGeest jumped out to the early lead from his outside pole start of the CARQUEST Super Late Model feature. Lap three Judd Brandl passed VanDerGeest for the lead, but the 30 lap contest was far from over. Mark Eswein quickly moved into the two spot by lap four. VanDerGeest fell to third, Dean LaPointe raced fourth and Keith Bohmsach fifth. LaPointe moved up to the third spot and Bohmsach fourth as both passed VanDerGeest. Lap 17, Chris Weinkauf, fast timer broke into the top five.

Bohmsach passed LaPointe for third on lap nine, Weinkauf passed LaPointe for fourth on lap ten. Eswein began to pressure Brandl for the lead on the outside. As the two raced door-to-door, Eswein just inched ahead of Brandl on lap 25, and the caution flew for Andy Thompson. The race was re-started single file as there was only five laps left. Eswein lead, with Brandl, Weinkauf, Bohmsach and LaPointe in tow. Lap 28, Todd Stapleman passed LaPointe for the fifth spot. Eswein won, Brandl second, Weinkauf third, Bohmsach fourth and Stapleman fifth.

The CARQUEST Super Late Model semi-feature was won by Rick Grunden, second went to Josh Bell. Both advanced to the rear of the feature, Grunden finished seventh in that race and Bell finished thirteenth.

The first seven of 25 laps in the CARQUEST & Coca-Cola Super Stock feature were led by Brian Schmutzer. Larry Schultz took the lead from him on lap eight. Lap ten the caution came out for Scott Havlicek. When the race resumed, Schultz led, Jim Cormack second, Kyle Davis third, Wes Coon fourth and Andy Simonis fifth. Coon passed Davis and Cormack for second on lap 17. Stelzer came up to challenge Coon for the second spot and passed him, but Coon and Simonis made contact in the backstretch sending Coon’s car into the infield.

The re-start was single file then with a green-white-checkered finish. Schultz was leading, Stelzer second, and Cormack third. Cormack jumped out of line and was along side Stelzer before the field received the green coming out of turn four. Cormack was then able to get by Schultz to take the lead, but was docked two spots for the jump. The win was awarded to Schultz, Stelzer second, Cormack third, Tim Plowman fourth and Tim Hintz fifth.

The CARQUEST & Coca-Cola Super Stock semi-feature was won by Travis Zvolena, Ken Lewis finished second. Both advanced to the rear of the Super feature. Zvolena finished fourteenth and Lewis fifteenth.

Steve Hauser led the first two laps of the 4-Cylinder feature. Greg Blount then took over the lead from his tenth place start. Fast timer Keith Wirtz who started 14th, was in second by lap nine, but Blount had a large lead on the field. Blount won, Wirtz second, Jason Bell third, Torey Nitzsche fourth and Dale Louze fifth.

The 1-Man Cruiser feature was led by Matt Cournoyer, until fast timer Rodney Feltz took over for the win. Mike Dodson second, Travis Zvolena third, Pat Dickman fourth and Cournoyer fifth.

The team of Schultz and Coon led the first five laps of the 2-Man Cruiser feature. Schultz and Coon had mechanical troubles and had to pit. The team of Hasenohrl and Bauer then took the lead and won for the second week in a row. Boyer and Clark finished second, Sankey and Pionek third.

The winner of the 2003 PT Cruiser Pace Car, was Derek Freis of Marshfield. Thanks to all the sponsors that made the Pace Car possible. WDEZ 101.9 FM, V&H Automotive, CARQUEST, Abby Gas Services, Subway, Burt Trophies & Awards and Rainbow Casino & Bingo.

The winner of the Wal-Mart bicycle was Brittney Meyer of Auburndale.

Join us next weekend for the Fall Spectacular Friday and Saturday nights. Friday, Grandstand gates open at 4 p.m., Miller Time Trials at 5:00 p.m. and the show starts at 6:30. Action includes Super Late Model last chance events plus a 40 Lap feature, Super Stocks, Legends, and 1-Man Cruisers.

Saturday, Grandstand gates open at 2 p.m., Miller Time Trials at 3 p.m. and racing starts at 5 p.m. Saturday features the 7th Annual Super Late Model Race of Champions, Limited Late Models, 4-Cylinders, Street Stocks, Mini-Cups and 2-Man Cruisers. Marshfield Super Speedway is located 3.5 miles West of Marshfield on County Trunk H.