Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

First 2008 Eve of Devastation a Smash

Posted under Race Reports by Chris Budzban on May 3rd, 2008

By Mary Langreck

May 3, 2008; Marshfield, WI: – The Eve of Devastation sponsored by Kafka Granite, Kafka Conveyors and WIFC 95.5FM finally was underway after two postponements due to inclement weather. Although the air was chilly the action on the speedway was thrilling and action packed.

The Freestyle Burn Out contest kicked off the show, where competitors are allowed to burn for 30 seconds on the front stretch. Participants put on their best smoke show for the crowd, while continuing to keep their vehicle constantly moving. Cheers from the crowd decide the winner of the contest. The first 2008 Eve winner was Scott Hale of Granton in his 1965 Chevrolet short box.

Bus racing was up next. After taking the green, they were four wide entering turn one. John Strasser took the lead of lap one. Ryan Pribbernow, Fran Esser and Chad Krueger were right there trying to steel it away, with Jim Esser and Ron Wells completing the bus field. Pribbernow took the lead with Strasser battling back but unable to pull ahead at the start finish line. Fran Esser then went three wide on the inside of both Pribbernow and Strasser after the lead, only having to settle for second by a bumper at the finish. Pribbernow won, Fran Esser second, Strasser third, Krueger fourth, Jim Esser fifth and Wells sixth.

The Kafka Granite and Kafka Conveyors sponsored IROC Saturn race brought racers Kelly Kramer, Bill Keene, Cubby, Tim Eckes, Kraig Kramer and Duane Ladick to the speedway. Duane Ladick took the lead early from his outside pole start. Lap two took Kelly Kramer out of the race as the car drifted high in turn two and made contact with the outside concrete wall. Ladick kept the lead for the restart with Keene chasing after the lead. Ladick won, Keene second, Eckes third and Cubby fourth.

The ever popular tire race where the object is to remove your opponents tire while keeping your own. This event often turns into an exiting game of cat and mouse. Once your tire is gone, you are eliminated from the race. The first ever full framed tire race winner was Jonny Schultz of Marshfield. The compact tire race winner was Charles Dibble of Pittsville.

The Spin To Win race is two laps around the