Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

Gregorich Takes Fourth in a Row

Posted under Race Reports by Chris Budzban on July 22nd, 2006

By Brian Back and Woody Eckes

July 22, 2006; Marshfield, WI: – Mother Nature tried to postpone the RZ Builders for a second time this season. Fortunately after a short, but strong rain shower, the Bill Sherman Memorial races went on with incident. Point leader Chris Weinkauf set fast time for the CarQuest Super Late Models. Matt Pyburn was quickest in the CarQuest Super Stocks and later took the feature win. Dave Knauf took fast time and the feature win in the 1-Man Cruisers. Pure Stock driver Gary Haarklau took fast time and the feature win.

The nineteen car super late model feature was led to the start by Ben Pettis and John Froelich. Pettis grabbed the lead, and pulled the field for the opening half. Dean LaPointe and Cale Laessig also followed Pettis past Froelich, earning them second and third place respectively. Deep in the field, Eugene Gregorich Jr. began an impressive charge to the front. From his 14th place starting position, he found his way to fourth place by lap seven. Three laps later, he had passed Laessig and LaPointe and began to chase the leader. Fast qualifier Chris Weinkauf also moved forward, finding himself in fifth by lap 11, at the rear bumper of Laessig. On lap 14, Gregorich took the lead from Pettis with an impressive high side pass. The front five began to distance themselves from the field. On lap 17, Mark Kraus made a move to the inside of Jason Weinkauf for sixth, followed closely by Jay VanDerGeest. Jason Weinkauf was not prepared to surrender seventh as he battled fiercely on the high side for several laps with VanDerGeest finally completing the pass with three laps to go. Laessig made several attempts to the inside of LaPointe throughout the race, but wasn’t able to complete the pass. At the checkered flag, Gregorich captured his fourth feature in a row, followed by Pettis, LaPointe, Laessig and Chris Weinkauf.

The super stock feature saw the high line charging early as Randy Meyer led Chad Scholl and Randy Emmerich to the front. Matt Pyburn and Wes Coon quickly advanced from the rear, getting to fifth and sixth by lap five. On lap six, Emmerich took second from Scholl, only to drop out a few laps later with mechanical difficulties. Pyburn and Coon continued to move forward with a series of bottom side passes on Travis Zvolena and Scholl, putting them in second and third by lap 12. Points leader Brian Weinfurter closed on the front pack quickly, passing to fourth on lap 13, and looking for the leaders. On lap 14 lapped traffic became a factor as Meyer, Pyburn and Coon passed the battling cars of Luke Bravener and Scott Simons three-wide through the middle. Two laps later, Pyburn caught Meyer and made a low side pass off turn four to take the lead. Lapped traffic came into play one more time on lap 20 as Mark Langreck spun into Marv Flick on the entrance of turn three, narrowly missing the leader Pyburn, as he passed three-wide on the high side. As they crossed the stripe, Pyburn led Meyer, Coon, Weinfurter, and Scholl to the finish.

Ten fearless motorcyclists didn’t let a little rain slow down their show tonight on the blacktop. 62 year young Ron Bean from Wisconsin Rapids showed the young guns the way home in the first heat tonight on his Donahue Super Sports 450 Yamaha. The second heat was lead from the green flag by Marshfield’s Cliff Eckes Jr., but a spill by Duluth’s Randy Ruffi brought out the red flag, but after a quick inspection of his bike and body, he lined back up for the restart. Eckes once again led the pack in the early going, but Ringle’s Mark Zeidler would not be denied and put his 450 Honda into the top spot for the fast heat win. All riders transferred to the 10 lap final. On the first start attempt, some of the riders were quicker than the flagman, requiring a restart with the offenders put on the back row. The next time everyone was successful taking off, and they all hurtled into turn one with a blaze of sparks off their steel skid-shoes, and a fight for position going on immediately between Ringle’s Mark Zeidler, Hatley’s Steve Kasten and Marshfield’s Cliff Eckes for the lead. Zeidler chose the high line and started to stretch out his lead over his two closest pursuers, for his first victory on the blacktop this year.

Results: 1. Mark Zeidler HON 2. Steve Kasten YAM 3. Cliff Eckes Jr. YAM 4.Troy Johnson ROT 5.Ron Bean YAM 6.Randy Ruffi YAM 7. Craig Lewis YAM 8.Woody Eckes YAM 9. Craig Nigh HON 10. Duwayne Montgomery ROT
By Woody Eckes

The 1-Man Cruiser/Junkyard Warrior feature was three-wide from the drop of the green flag, with Ryan VanDerLeest taking the lead on the high side going into turn one. Travis Paul also moved up several positions on the opening lap, slicing through the middle of the field. As they crossed the stripe on lap one, Todd Hoeper and Paul split the leader VanDerLeest with Hoeper assuming the lead into turn one. Paul challenged Hoeper to the high side, but was unable to take advantage and settled for the second position. Wayne Dietz and David Knauf moved from the rear to the third and fourth position by lap four and began to challenge the leaders. Contact between Paul and the challenging Dietz on lap six allowed Knauf to take second place on the high side. One lap later, Dietz passed Paul to take third. Dietz made slight contact with the front straight wall two laps later allowing Paul to close back in. Knauf also moved to the high side of leader Hoeper on lap nine, only to drop back. With three to go, he challenged again and completed the pass one lap later. At the finish it was Knauf, Hoeper, Dietz, Paul and Justin Moore.

The Pure Stock feature was lead into turn one by polesitter Richard Delis Jr. Gary Haarklau, starting dead last, made an amazing four wide pass out of turn two to assume third place at the end of lap one. He quickly roared to the lead by lap two, passing both Delis and Jeff Behrens. Behind Haarklau, Kyle Gennet and Behrens split the second place car of Delis, with Gennet taking the inside, and the second position. As Behrens completed the pass for third, Shawn Carpenter also closed in on Delis on lap five, and attempted a pass to the high side. At the front Gennett began to challenge the leader Haarklau with three to go ,making a strong move to the high side. Gennett pulled nose to nose with one and a half laps to go before a slip in the backstretch caused him to fall a car length behind. Gennett could only get back to the rear bumper cover of Haarklau by the checkered, followed in third by Behrens, and Delis. Ron Kundinger slipped into fifth as Carpenter spun while receiving the white flag.

Next Saturday, July 29th is the return of the HOSS Hoosier Outlaw Winged Sprints, sponsored by Martinovich Trucking, WAXX 104.5 and Rock N Roll To Go. Featuring HOSS Outlaw Winged Sprints, Limited Late Models, 4-Cylinders, 1-Man Cruisers, Junkyard Warriors and Pure Stocks. Grandstand gates open at 5 p.m., time trials at 5:30, racing starts at 7 p.m. Marshfield Super Speedway is located 3.5 miles west of Marshfield on County Road H with weekly Saturday night stock car racing April through September. Adult grandstand admission is $15.00, Students ages 10-15 yrs. $5.00 and under 10 yrs FREE with a parent. No Sunday rain date.

Everyone 16 yrs and older may sign up FREE every race night to win the 2006 Dodge Charger Pace Car.