Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

Gregorich Wins Super Late Feature Weinfurter, Zeidler & Rasmussen Take Checkers

Posted under Race Reports by Chris Budzban on July 7th, 2007

By Mary Langreck

July 7, 2007; Marshfield, WI: – The Lucky Sevens race night, sponsored by our pace car giveaway sponsors, WDEZ 101.9FM, Brickner Family, Abby Gas Service, King’s Campers, Subway, CarQuest, and The Home Front was a blistering hot night of racing. Eugene Gregorich Jr would set the quickest CarQuest super late model lap and later return to win the feature. Brian Back earned another CarQuest super stock fast time. Brad Seavers turned the fastest motorcycle lap at 21.633. Kyle Rasmussen took home another clean sweep in the junkyard warrior division.

The CarQuest super late model feature started out with a battle for the lead between Monte Gress and Cale Laessig. Gress led the first lap, but a spin in turn one brought out the first caution flag. Laessig then took the lead for the re-start, with Wes Coon and Justin Switlick hot on his heels. Jeff Weinfurter was steadily making his way to the front, bringing Ben Pettis, Eugene Gregorich Jr and Chris Weinkauf with. Weinfurter overtook Laessig for the lead on lap six. Pettis moved up into the second spot the following lap. Only a couple of laps later, Gregorich began to challenge Pettis for second. Lap nine, Gregorich pulled ahead into second and began to look for the lead. Lap 11, Gregorich took the lead from Weinfurter. Weinfurter continued strong in second for two laps, but then a mechanical problem forced him to take his machine to the pits. Meanwhile, Weinkauf and Pettis had been battling over third, Weinkauf won the challenge, then moving up to second. Weinkauf then began to chase down Gregorich for that lead. Justin Switlick continued to race within the top five throughout the position changes. On lap 15, Tim Hintz passed Laessig for fifth and now began to challenge Switlick for the fourth spot. The last caution flew with only three to go. Contact between Switlick and Adam Degenhardt re-started both at the rear of the field. Weinkauf made a strong challenge for the lead exiting turn four as the field re-started the race, but Gregorich pulled ahead to hang on for the win and the Beway Race Products feature award. Weinkauf second, Pettis third, Hintz fourth and Jay VanDerGeest fifth.

Brendan Klueckman led lap one of the CarQuest super stock feature. Chad Scholl then led lap two. Brian Weinfurter took charge of the lead on lap three. The caution flew for a spin on the backstretch before lap four was completed. Rick Grunden had his sites set on the lead for the re-start, but Weinfurter was able to keep him at bay. Grunden didn’t give up though and continued to chase after the lead. The battle for third was between Mike Gwidt and Scholl for several laps, until Randy Emmerich came up and took third from both of them. Brian Back had worked his way back to the front after having to pit from the caution and was challenging Gwidt for fourth on the outside. Weinfurter won, taking home the Krings Motorsports feature award and the RZ Builders Bonus Pay. Grunden second, Emmerich third, Back fourth and Gwidt fifth.

A thirty cent electrical connection almost cost heat and feature winner Mark Zeidler of Ringle the race tonight. Luckily it failed in qualifying and not the actual race. With repairs made just in time for the heat race, Zeidler was the front runner all night long. Brad Seavers from Rib Lake was fast qualifier with a time of 21.633. Randy Ruffi from Lake Nebagamon was the only rider to fall tonight. He lost the front end exiting turn four and slid down spectacularly; sustaining some scrapes and major crash damage to his bike. His fellow racers all pitched together and got him going for the feature where he put together an impressive seventh place finish.
Results: 1.Mark Zeidler HON 2.Steve Kasten YAM 3. Brad Seavers HON 4.Cliff Eckes Jr YAM 5. Troy Johnson ROT 6.Craig Lewis YAM 7.Randy Ruffi YAM 8.Woody Eckes YAM 9. Ted Strebe YAM
Qualifying: 1.Brad Seavers 21.633 2. Cliff Eckes Jr. 21.672 3. Randy Ruffi 21.987 4.Steve Kasten 22.214 5.Troy Johnson 22.309 6. Craig Lewis 22.379 7. Ted Strebe 22.857 8. Woody Eckes 22.985
Story by Woody Eckes

The first two laps of the junkyard warrior feature were led by Matt Phelps. Marc Baldwin led the next four laps. Baldwin tried to fend off Jonathan Zuelke, but Zuelke took the lead on lap seven. Zuelke’s lead was only two laps long, as Kyle Rasmussen took over for the final four laps and the win. Rasmussen won, Zuelke second, Baldwin third, Phelps fourth and Jeremiah Strauss fifth. The top three feature finishers won trophies compliments of Humbird Jackets & Embroidery Werks.

The Junkyard Warrior Mid-Season points trophies sponsored by Beway Race Products were earned by a combination of points tonight during qualifying, heat and feature. Kyle Rasmussen took first, Marc Baldwin second and Matt Phelps third.

Next Saturday, July 14th is The Wisconsin Challenge Series 80 Lap Feature, brought to you by V&H Heavy Duty Trucks. PLUS Bonus $200 4-Cylinder Payout compliments of Tom Loos Racing Photography. Red hot racing includes WCS Super Late Models, 4-Cylinders and Pure Stocks. Pit gates open at 3:30, grandstand gates open at 5 p.m., Miller Lite time trials at 5:30, racing starts at 7 p.m. Marshfield Super Speedway is located 3.5 miles west of Marshfield on County Road H with weekly Saturday night stock car racing April through September. Adult grandstand admission is just $12.00, Students ages 10-15 yrs. $6.00 and under 10 yrs FREE with a parent. The family ticket is $30.00. Rain date for Sunday two hours earlier.

Everyone 16 yrs and older may sign up FREE every race night to win the PT Cruiser Convertible Pace Car. Sponsored by: WDEZ 101.9, Brickner Family Dealerships, Abby Gas Service, King’s Campers, Subway, CarQuest, The Home Front.