Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

Gregorich Wins Super Late Feature

Posted under Race Reports by Chris Budzban on May 31st, 2008

By Mary Langreck

May 31, 2008; Marshfield, WI: – The Sternweis & Sons Concrete, WDLB race night opened with speed for the Miller Lite time trials. Chris Weinkauf, last week’s feature winner, set fast time in the super lates. Brian Weinfurter was the quickest super stock in qualifying. Derk Hauser in the 4-cylinder division earned the first fast time of the year for that division, taking home the Bill Dunow Fast Time Award. Kyle Genett in the pure stocks grabbed his second quick time of the year.

The super late model feature was lined up for a battle between the Switlick brothers. Justin Switlick took the early lead from his outside pole start, fending off AJ Kania and Rory Melbinger. By lap six, Justin Switlick’s brother, Jeremy Switlick was poised in the second position and ready to challenge for the lead. Lap seven, the first caution flew, and Melbinger who has been haunted by a mechanical problem since the start of the season used the caution for a chance to pit from his third place running position to make a quick adjustment on the car and returning for the re-start. The caution flew again on lap eight, this time it was fast qualifier Chris Weinkauf pulling in from his second place running position for a quick pit stop, rejoining the field for the re-start.

The remainder of the race was green, as Jeremy Switlick began pressuring his Justin for that lead. Hot on the leaders heels was Eugene Gregorich Jr., who missed qualifying and started last in the feature. Lap ten, Jeremy was able to steal the lead away from Justin Switlick. It was short-lived as Gregorich using the inside lane in turn three made the pass stick to take the lead from Jeremy Switlick. Jay VanDerGeest and Dean LaPointe were on the charge to the front, both getting by Justin Switlick for third with only ten to go. VanDerGeest and LaPointe then started a battle over the third position. Tim Hintz was racing in fifth place and then with only a few laps to go, put himself right in the mix for the third position with VanDerGeest and LaPointe. Hintz was able to pulled ahead of LaPointe, but unable to secure third from VanDerGeest. Gregorich won, taking home the Krings Motorsports of Arpin feature win award. Jeremy Switlick second, VanDerGeest third, Hintz fourth and LaPointe fifth.

Special thanks to Jay VanDerGeest Cattle and Hartlebens’ Custom Cropping Service for sponsoring the additional super late model payout for the season.

The first five laps of the super stock feature were led by Marv Flick. The heated battle between Mike Gwidt and Brian Weinfurter that started in the heat race continued into the feature event as the both challenged Flick for the lead. Weinfurter using the inside lane came up with the lead this time and stretched out a couple car length comfortable lead from the pack. Gwidt who had won the battle for the heat win, was unable to close up Weinfurter’s lead. Flick continued to hold strong in third. Matt Raykowski was running hard in fourth, until he was struck with engine problems, losing power the second half of the race. Bruce Stanley moved up to take over the fourth spot until the white flag lap when he began to have mechanical difficulties, both Raykowski and Greg Matthews were able to advance. Weinfurter won earning the Beway Race Products feature win award, your official at the track parts supplier. Gwidt second, Flick third, Raykowski fourth and Matthews fifth.

The first Scott’s Bumper to Bumper Parts City and Budweiser 4-cylinder feature of the 2008 season was an exciting green to checkered race with constant side-by-side action. JJ Flick took the lead from the start but was in for a challenge to hang onto it. Don Dunow raced in second until Jeremiah Strauss who started ninth began to pick up a couple of spots each lap. Lap five Strauss used the outside lane to take second from Dunow. Strauss then set his sites on the leader. Behind the leaders, a battle ensued over third between Dunow, Ricky Brandl and Erin Schlough. With only three laps to go, Schlough made the pass stick getting by Dunow and Brandl. Fast timer Derk Hauser was right behind him taking fifth from Brandl. Up front, Strauss and Flick had been battling for ten laps over the lead. Strauss tried using the inside and outside lanes, unable to get by Flick. Flick won, Strauss second, Schlough third, Dunow fourth and Hauser fifth.

The season long battle has started between Kyle Genett and Ryan Mork. Last week Genett picked up a clean sweep. This week Genett started out with the quick time, but Mork took the win in both the heat and feature. Gary Haarklau led the first two laps of the pure stock feature. Mork took the lead on lap three with Genett right there for second. A spin on lap seven brought out the only caution of the race, tightening up the field. Genett chose the outside lane for the restart, but was unable to pull ahead of Mork for the win. Mork won, Genett second, Haarklau third, Dean Ashbacher fourth and Marc Baldwin fifth.

Next Saturday night June 7th, weekly racing continues presented by A&B Process Systems and 107.5FM. Red hot racing includes Super Late Models, Super Stocks, Scott’s Bumper to Bumper and Budweiser 4-cylinders and Junkyard Warriors. Pit gates open at 3:30, grandstand gates open at 5 pm, Miller Lite time trials at 6 pm, racing starts at 7:30. Marshfield Super Speedway is located 3.5 miles west of Marshfield on County Road H with weekly Saturday night stock car racing April through September. Adult grandstand admission is just $10.00, Students ages 10-15 yrs. $5.00 and under 10 yrs FREE with a parent. The family ticket is $25.00 (includes two adult tickets and unlimited students).

June 7th is Hometown Night At The Races for Neillsville, Granton, Fairchild, Osseo, Black River Falls,
Humbird, Merrillan, Willard. Any race fan from any town listed for June 7th, will be able to show their picture ID that states they live in one of those towns, and receive FREE admission to that night’s races.

Everyone 16 yrs and older may sign up FREE every race night to win the Dodge Caliber pace car. Sponsored by: WDEZ 101.9, Brickner Chrysler-Wausau, Abby Gas Service, Cellcom and Subway.