Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

Gregorich Wins Third Super Late Feature in a Row

Posted under Race Reports by Chris Budzban on July 8th, 2006

By Sara Johnson

July 8, 2006; Marshfield, WI: – The races this evening honored the sponsors of the 2006 Dodge Charger Pace Car that will be given away this September 9. Trent Snyder of Ironton, MN set fast time in the super lates his first trip here this season. Matt Pyburn was the super stock quick timer. Kyle Opelt with third fast time in the 4-cylinder division. Kyle Rasmussen took fast time in the 1-man cruisers and Kyle Genett with his third clean-sweep in the pure stocks.

Nineteen CarQuest super late models took to the speedway for the 25 lap feature race. Eric Wisz led the first four laps of the contest. Jason Weinkauf took the lead on lap five with Troy Nelson in hot pursuit. Eugene Gregorich Jr. broke into the fifth spot on lap six and only a few laps later was racing third. The top three broke ahead of the rest of the field as they battled for the lead. Lap ten Gregorich took second from Nelson. Gregorich moved to the inside lane to take the lead from Weinkauf on lap 12. Wisz held strong in the fourth spot as Jeff Weinfurter and Jay VanDerGeest battled over the fifth position. VanDerGeest pulled ahead on the inside and then passed Wisz for fourth. Chris Weinkauf was racing his way to the front and into the fifth spot on lap 20 with fast time Trent Snyder right behind him. At the checkered, Snyder was able to pass Weinkauf for the fifth spot. Gregorich won, Jason Weinkauf second, Nelson third, VanDerGeest fourth and Snyder fifth.

Racing action in the CarQuest super stock feature was filled caution and excitement. Front row starters Larry Schultz and Dennis Crass battled furiously up front for the first half of the event until a spin sent Schultz to the pit area. The action resumed with Crass leading, followed by Brian Weinfurter, Travis Zvolena and Wes Coon. On lap 16, Crass forfeited the lead to Weinfurter, while contact between Coon and Matt Pyburn brought out the final caution, and left Pyburn at the rear of the field. As the green flew for the final time, Coon quickly passed Crass and set his sights on Weinfurter. At the finish it was Weinfurter followed by Coon in a close battle, followed by Randy Emmerich, Crass and Zvolena.

George Brandl led the first two laps of the caution-less 4-cylinder feature. Jeremiah Strauss then took the lead for the remaining 13 laps. Dan McGiveron was able to race into the second spot, but unable to challenge Strauss for the lead as he was already a long ways ahead of the field. McGiveron held off advances from Steve Hauser, Derk Hauser, Steve Stewart and Kyle Opelt. Strauss held out for the win. McGiveron second, Steve Hauser third, Stewart fourth and Opelt fifth.

Wayne Dietz dominated the 1-man cruiser feature leading the entire race to the checkered. Justin Moore held the second spot for the first three laps before relinquishing it to Travis Paul. At the end of the race only the top four were on the lead lap. Dietz won, Paul second, Moore third, Ron Sischo fourth and Dave Bender fifth.

Shawn Carpenter led the first lap of the pure stock feature. Jeff Behrens led the next two laps. Kyle Genett took charge of the lead. Coletta Gomes moved up into the third spot on lap nine. Genett won, Behrens second, Gomes third, Carpenter fourth and Skylar Domine fifth.

Next Saturday, July 15th is the Earth Inc and V&H Heavy Duty Trucks WI Challenge Series. Featuring an 80 Lap Super Late Model WCS feature, plus 4-Cylinders, 1-Man Cruisers, Junkyard Warriors and Pure Stocks. Grandstand gates open at 5 p.m., time trials at 5:30, racing starts at 7 p.m. Marshfield Super Speedway is located 3.5 miles west of Marshfield on County Road H with weekly Saturday night stock car racing April through September. Adult grandstand admission is $12.00, Students ages 10-15 yrs. $6.00 and under 10 yrs FREE with a parent. Rain dated for Sunday, two hours earlier.

Everyone 16 yrs and older may sign up FREE every race night to win the 2006 Dodge Charger Pace Car.