Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

Jim Sauter Jr. Captures SLM Championship, Malouf – Hauser – Polansky – Volm Crowned Champs

Posted under Race Reports by Wayne Brevik on September 17th, 2012


Fairchild, WI, September 15, 2012 – In what was great late summer weather, fans enjoyed not only the racing weather, but also enjoy some great season championship racing at Marshfield Motor Speedway.

Heading into Super Late Model action, Eau Claire, WI native Ben Pettis had a slight lead over both Ryan Hinner and Jim Sauter, Jr.  Pending feature finish order, anyone of the aforementioned drivers could walk away with the 2012 track championship. 

Don Turner and Kyle Genett led the field to the green flag.  Turner would grab the early lead in the 40-lap super late model main event.  Turner continued to fend of Genett for the race lead.  Once the field of 19-cars reached the 8th lap, it was Jim Sauter, Jr. your new leader.  Sauter, Jr, who calls Tomah, WI home, needed a top finish to be able to have a chance at the championship.  Fast qualifier Mark Eswein worked his way to the second spot from his ninth starting position.  Eswein appeared to have the fastest car in the field and started putting pressure on Sauter, Jr. for the race lead.  Sauter, Jr and Eswein battled numerous laps side by side for the race lead.  Mark Eswein eventually moved pass Sauter, Jr. to take over the top spot.  With Eswein and Sauter, Jr. leading the way, Bangor’s Steve Holzhausen raced his way towards the front of the field.  Holzhausen raced his way past Ryan Hinner for the third position as the two drivers raced off turn four.  Once the drivers received the checkered flag, it was Wisconsin Rapids, WI driver Mark Eswein taking the win in his familar #71 race car.  Jim Sauter, Jr. proved to have a very fast car as he came home in the runner up position. Holzhausen, Ryan Hinner, and Paige Decker rounded out the top five.   Heat winners tonight were Chad Selk, Kyle Genett, and Ryan Hinner.  Neillsville, WI driver Monte Gress captured the Napa of Marshfield Dash 4 Cash win.

With Jim Sauter, Jr, grabbing a second place finish, and Ryan Hinner back in fourth position, the two drivers finished first and second respectively in the point championship as Ben Pettis had handling issues and finished 13th.

1. Mark Eswein

2. Jim Sauter, Jr.

3. Steve Holzhausen

4. Ryan Hinner

5. Paige Decker

6. Kyle Genett

7. Neil Knoblock

8. Andrew Morrissey

9. Jeff Weinfurter

10. Chad Selk

11. Brandon Conrad

12. Don Turner

13. Ben Pettis

14. Cory Jankowski

15. Monte Gress

16. Dean LaPointe

17. Jake Capek

18. Jack Greenwood

19. Mike Seivers

CWSSA Super Stocks took to the track tonight with anyone of three drivers having the opportunity to go home tonight with a track championship.  Once the feature started, all Brian Weinfurter had to do was finish ahead of Phil Malouf, and the championship would go home with him.  Unfortunately, Brian Weinfurter had a fluid lead from his #24 machine while running in the second spot.  Weinfurter, who has been nothing short of sensational all season, had to park his car for the evening ending his hopes for the MMS track championship.  Once the race continued, Phil Malouf continued to lead.  However, on lap 14 of the 20 lap main, Natalie Decker grabbed the lead away from Malouf, and would hold that lead until fast timer Matt Pyburn took over the helm.  Pyburn eventually went on to take the CWSSA feature win.  With Natalie Decker grabbing the second spot, that also placed the young Eagle River, Wisconsin driver in the runner up position for the championship.  With his third place finish, Phil Malouf pockets the 2012 MMS track championship.  J.J. Flick and Mark Challet rounded out the top five tonight in the feature event.

In CWMSA 4-Cylinder racing action, all Steve Hauser had to do is start the feature event, and the track championship was all his to take home to Gilman, Wisconsin.  Charlie Nickel was back competing and took home fast time with a lap time of 22.210.  Phil Malouf would pocket the heat win tonight for the 4-cylinders.  In feature action, Derk Hauser and Charles Dixon led the field to the green flag in the 20-lap main event.  Hauser grabbed the early lead and would hold that lead until lap five when Tim Anderson took over the top spot.  It appeared Anderson was on his way to the win as he built up a 5-car length over second place driver Phil Malouf.  However, caution flew and tightened the field of cars back up.  Once the drivers took the green flag to restart the feature event, Phil Malouf moved to the outside of Anderson.  The two drivers had the fans on the edge of their seats as they battled side by side, the remaining laps and for the race win.  Once the two drivers battled of turn four on the last lap, it was Malouf edging by Anderson in a photo finish.  Derk Hauser, Scott Cielsieski, and Steve Hauser rounded out the top five respectively.  Steve Hauser won the championship, with Tim Anderson edging by Derk Hauser for the point championship runner up position.

Travis Volm and Karl Genett were the two contenders for the Pure Stock track championship, and both drivers were on hand to compete tonight at Marshfield Motor Speedway.  Volm grabbed qualifying honors and the heat win to extend his point lead over Genett.  Once the Pure Stock drivers took to their main event, it was Shane Cichon and Steve Berg leading the way to the green flag.  Steve Berg would grab the early lead, however, it was brief as Kevin Berg took the lead away from Steve Berg.  A few laps later, it was Mosinee, WI driver Travis Volm putting his #76 machine to the point.  Volm, who runs well at Marshfield, was looking to pocket his first Marshfield Motor Speedway track championship. Well, tonight, it was all Travis Volm as he took home the sweep and the track championship.  Kevin Berg grabbed the runner up position, with Karl Genett taking the final podium position.

The always exciting Bandits were once again apart of the racing program and always put on a great show for the loyal race fans.  Tonight would be no different then any other this past race season, as the Bandits raced nose to tail and side by side throughout the feature event.  Robert LaRoss and Eric Robinson battled for the lead early as both drivers shared the lead the first 7 laps.  On lap 8, however, it was track champion Randy Polansky taking the lead. Polansky appeared he would pocket another feature win tonight.  However, Kevin Burris battled Polansky side by side for the race lead.  Burris was able to clear Polansky for the race lead as the two drivers battled off turn 2.  Once the drivers took the checkered flag, it was Burris with the race win.  With heat winner Polansky taking the second spot, it was Brian Hudson, Eric Robinson, and Alex Volm rounding out the top five.

In Motorcycle action, it was Cliff Eckes winning the heat and both feature wins. 

On September 28th and 29th Marshfield Motor Speedway will be hosting the 2012 DuWayne Davis Memorial Fall Shootout.  On Friday night, Yellow River Racing Series Super Late Models will be competing in qualifying, heats, and qualifying features.  Also, Bandits and Cruisers will be competing on the half mile paved oval.  On Saturday, Super Late Models will be competing in last chance races and Twin 50 lap feature events.  Super Stocks, 4-Cylinders, Pure Stocks, Bandits, and Vintage race cars will be competing!

For all updates, please visit us online at  Also, join us on Facebook or Twitter for all updates.