Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

John Bell Memorial Cancer FREE Opener

Posted under Race Reports by Chris Budzban on April 17th, 2005

By Mary Langreck

April 17, 2005; Marshfield, WI: – Although rained delayed the opening of the Marshfield Super Speedway 2005 race season for one day, it didn’t stop the crowds from coming out to support the John Bell Memorial Cancer FREE night with proceeds going to benefit cancer research on Sunday.

Mark Eswein claimed the first CARQUEST Super Late Model fast time of the ’05 season. Brian Weinfurter was quick timer in the CARQUEST CWSSA Super Stocks. Greg Blount was fast timer of the 4-Cylinders and Cody Meyer took the 1-Man Cruiser fast time.

The 25 lap CARQUEST Super Late Model feature’s early leader was Jay VanDerGeest. By lap three Jeff Weinfurter had taken the lead from VanDerGeest. Fast timer Mark Eswein came from the back to the front to take second from VanDerGeest the following lap. Ben Pettis had worked his way to the front also and passed VanDerGeest for the third spot on lap five.

Lap six, Eswein challenged and won the lead from Weinfurter. As the lap wound down, Pettis reeled in Weinfurter and Greg Back worked for fourth from VanDerGeest but neither were able to advance their spot before the checkered flew. Eswein won the first feature of the season, Weinfurter second, Pettis third, VanDerGeest fourth and Back fifth.

The first three laps of the CARQUEST Super Stock feature were led by Chad Scholl. Andy Simonis took the lead and was able to hold on for the win. Bo Bennish drove his way to the front and lap 13 took the second spot from Scholl. Brian Weinfurter had come up through the field and was in third. Simonis won, Bennish second, Weinfurter third, Scholl fourth and Travis Zvolena fifth.

Ten 4-Cylinders ran the semi-feature with Dylan Hockin taking first and Curt Luedtke second earning starting spots in the feature race.

Young Adam Eckes led the 4-Cylinder field for the first six laps. Dale Louze then took charge of the caution free feature. Dan McGiveron passed Eckes a few laps later for the second spot. Jeremiah Strauss and JJ Flick raced fourth and fifth. McGiveron began having engine trouble with only four to go and was forced to pit. Dale Louze held on for the win, Adam Eckes second, Strauss third, Kevin Eckes moved up to take fourth and Paul Berg grabbed the fifth spot.

The 1-Man Cruiser feature was led and won by Dave Knauf, Cody Meyer second, Wayne Dietz third, Tim Dickman fourth and Mike Denny fifth.

Next Saturday is American Asphalt Night at the races. Pits open at 3:30, stands 5 p.m., qualifying 6 p.m. and racing 7:30. Race divisions include Limited Late Models, Super Stocks, 4-Cylinders and 1-Man Cruisers. Raindated for Sunday, same times. Marshfield Super Speedway is located 3.5 miles west of Marshfield on County Road H with weekly Saturday night stock car racing April through September. Adult grandstand admission $10.00, Students ages 10-15 yrs. $5.00 and under 10 yrs FREE with a parent. Family Tickets $25.00 (includes 2 adult tickets + unlimited students & children).

Everyone 16 yrs and older may sign up FREE every race to win the 2005 Ford Mustang Pace Car!

Super Late Model: Mark Eswein 17.854
Super Stock: Brian Weinfurter 20.566
4-Cylinder: Greg Blount 22.360
1-Man Cruiser: Cody Meyer 23.547

CARQUEST Super Late Model
Heat 1: Weinfurter, Eswein, VanDerGeest, Pettis, Grunden.

Heat 1: Scholl, Simonis, Meyer, Weinfurter, Bennish.

CWMSA 4-Cylinder
Heat 1: G. Brandl, Dalsky, Lietz, Elmhorst, Metzler.
Heat 2: A. Eckes, Flick, Hockin, R. Brandl, Stewart.
Heat 3: Louze, McGiveron, Berg, K. Eckes, S. Hauser.

1-Man Cruiser
Heat 1: Meyer, Knauf, Dickman, Denny, Dietz.

4-Cylinder: Hockin, Luedtke, Dalsky, Lietz, Lueck.

Super Late Model: Eswein, Weinfurter, Pettis, VanDerGeest, Greg Back, Kempf, Gress, Hintz, Gibbons, Grunden.
Super Stock: Simonis, Bennish, Weinfurter, Scholl, Zvolena, Meyer, Karl, Simons.
4-Cylinder: Louze, A. Eckes, Strauss, K. Eckes, Berg, Flick, Blount, Dunow, Schlough, S. Hauser.
1-Man Cruiser: Knauf, Meyer, Dietz, Dickman, Denny.