Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

Kemke Sweeps Marshfield Show, Berg Holds Off Capek for Pure Stock Win

Posted under Race Reports by Wayne Brevik on July 22nd, 2012

Fairchild, WI, July 21, 2012 – With the Super Late Models taking the night off at Marshfield Motor Speedway, Limited Late Models and Pure Stocks visited the speedway and put on a great show for the Marshfield fans.  Super Stocks, 4-Cylinders, and Bandits also highlighted the evening’s events on what was a beautiful day for racing!

Cory Kemkes, the Appleton, WI hotshoe, seems to drive Marshfield Motor Speedway like he owns the 1/2 mile paved facility. Kemkes, who won on the famed track in 2011, was looking to put the familiar #07 back in victory lane.  Kemkes was able to knock out fast time honors with a lap time of 19.390.  In the Napa of Marshfield Dash 4 Cash, Kemkes again visited victory lane edging out Jimmy Gansky.  After also claiming top honors in his heat by finishing ahead of Kyle Wolosek, Cory Kemkes was now looking for a clean sweep with a posible feature win.

In the 25-lap feature event for the limited late models, it was Montel Peters and Jack Greenwood leading the way to the green flag to start the feature.  Peters jumped out to the early lead with Kemkes hot on his bumper.  With Kemkes grabbing the lead away from Peters on lap three, Kyle Wolosek and Jimmy Gansky were battling side by side for the second spot.  Another car that looked very fast was the stock car of Jake Zelinske. Zelinske stayed on the bumpers of the Gansky and Wolosek, looking for a passing groove.  As the laps closed, it looked as if Wolosek would real in the leader Kemkes, however, Kemkes would stretch the lead down the shoots.  Once the checkered flag flew, it was all Cory Kemkes as the Appleton driver would once again visit victory lane.  With Kyle Wolosek finishing a strong second, it was Jake Zelinske, Montel Peters, and Jack Greenwood rounding out the top five.

Matt Pyburn visited Marshfield Motor Speedway for the first time this year in his Super Stock, claiming fast time honors by edging Bruce Stanley.  Black River Falls, WI driver Ken Hutchins and Kyle Davis led the way to the green flag in super stock feature action.  Davis grabbed the early lead, but Phil Malouf was having nothing to do with that. Malouf powered by Davis for the race lead and stretched his lead as the rest of the field raced side by side.  Joe Nowak edged by Davis for the second position and Brian Weinfurter following in the third spot.  However, tonight, Malouf hit the set up just right in his #32 machine, and proved to be the fastest driver in feature action, taking home the checkered flag!  Joe Nowak has been fast wherever he races at this year, and proved to be fast at MMS taking home runner up honors.  Brian Weinfurter, Natalie Decker, and Bruce Stanley finished third, fourth, and fifth respectively.

Ben Capek claimed fast time honors in Pure Stock qualifying with a lap time of 22.420. Karl Genett and Kevin Berg traded the lead in the Pure Stock feature with Genett finally giving way to Berg for the race lead.  Ben Capek grabbed the second position away from Genett on lap 8, and set his sights on Kevin Berg.  Ben Capek closed to the back bumper of Berg several times, but just didn’t have the car to pass Berg as the two cars appeared to be equally fast.  Once starter Geno Eckes threw the checkered flag, it was Berg claiming the feature win.  Capek finished a close second with Genett and  heat winner Travis Volm claiming third and fourth respectively.

CWMSA 4-Cylinders hit the 1/2 mile paved oval again tonight and it was once again Charlie Nickel tripping the clock fastest in qualifying with a lap time of 22.230.  Nickel, who races for Cochrane Motorsports, has been nothing short of sensational this year.  Nickel has knocked off numerous wins in recent weeks.  Steve Hauser, point leader in the 4-cylinder division claimed heat win honors.  In the second heat, it was Charlie Nickel getting by Derk Hauser on the final lap, for the race win.  Rick Brandl grabbed the early lead in the CWMSA 4-cylinder feature.  However, Brandl’s lead was short lived as Derk Hauser grabbed the lead on lap two.  With Charlie Nickel making several passes of stock cars in the third groove, it was evident he was looking to add to his streak of wins.  Nickel made the pass on Derk Hauser on lap eight for the feature race lead.  Once Nickel got by Hauser, the real race was to see who would take the third position.  Tim Anderson and Steve Hauser battled side by side and nose to tail for numerous laps.  Finally, with three laps remaining, Anderson had a good run of turn two and eclipsed the race car of Steve Hauser. Once the drivers crossed the finish line, it was once again Charlie Nickel taking top honors ahead of Derk Hauser, Tim Anderson, Steve Hauser, and Mike Dixon claiming the fifth position.

Point leader Corey Stephens led early in the Bandit feature, but fast timer Randy Polansky was not about to look at the back end of the Stephens car for long.  Polansky grabbed the lead away from Stephens by lap three and never looked back.  Maybe the fastest car in the Bandit feature might of been Eau Claire, WI driver Brian Hudson.  Hudson got caught up in traffic early, but once the driver of the #31 machine cleared traffic, he was running down the second place driver of Stephens.  With two laps remaining, Hudson raced past Stephens for the runner up spot, however tonight, it was Randy Polansky taking home top honors in Bandit feature action.  With Hudson and Stephens finishing second and third, Ryan Polansky and Christine Schmude finished fourth and fifth respectively.

Next week, July 28th, Marshfield Motor Speedway will be taking the night off in memory of Larry Detjens.  State Park Speedway will be hosting the Larry Detjens Memorial Race.

On August 4th, Marshfield Motor Speedway will be back in action with Kid’s Night!  There will be kid’s stock car rides, bike giveaways, and a penny drop for all the children present that evening.  Super Late Models, CWSSA Super Stocks, CWMSA 4-Cylinders, Bandits, Motorcycles, and Crusiers will all be competing!  Visit us online at or on Facebook or Twitter for all the up to date information.