Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

Knoblock Scores Limited Late Model Feature First Night Out

Posted under Race Reports by Chris Budzban on May 21st, 2005

By Mary Langreck

May 21, 2005; Marshfield, WI: – The Bauernfeind/NEC and RZ Builders was an awesome night to watch a race. Neil Knoblock made his first trek to the track with his Limited Late Model and scored a heat and feature win. Bo Bennish took the lead from Matt Pyburn in the last few laps of the Super Stock feature to take the win. Dan McGiveron won his first ever 4-Cylinder feature and Cody Meyer made a clean sweep of the 1-Man Cruiser division.

Mike “Louie” Merriam led the first two laps of the Limited Late Model feature event. Neil Knoblock grabbed the lead on lap three and began to work his way ahead of the field. Behind the leader, Merriam fought to hang onto the second spot until Matt Schulz worked by him. Lap 11, the caution flew when Ben Duberstein spun in turn two. It was then determined that Schulz’ machine had been leaking rear end grease and he was sent to the pits. After the clean up, Knoblock resumed the lead with Merriam taking back the second spot. Jody Benson and Mark Sherfinski raced hard to get by Merriam and were able to get around him several laps later. Sherfinski took the second spot but was unable to take the lead from Knoblock, who went on to win. Sherfinski second, Schulz fixed his grease leak and returned to claim third, Merriam fourth and Benson fifth.

Randy Meyer in the early laps led what would unfold into a thrilling Super Stock feature. Matt Pyburn started in the eighth spot and drove through the field to take the lead on lap six. Pyburn began to stretch out a comfortable lead and the field fought for position behind him. Andy Simonis and Cale Laessig caught up with Meyer and began trying to take the second position. Shortly thereafter, Laessig had mechanical trouble and was forced to pit. Simonis was able to make the pass on Meyer for second on lap ten with Bo Bennish right behind grabbing the third spot from Meyer on lap 11. Simonis and Bennish broke from the field and started trying to close in on Pyburn’s lead. Bennish was made the pass on Simonis for the second spot, but Pyburn had still had a big lead on him. The only caution of the race flew on lap 15 for Matt Raykowski, spun in turn two. Pyburn now had the entire field on his heels for the restart. Bennish stuck right with Pyburn for the restart with only five to go. The last green flag lap, Pyburn bobbled in turn one, and Bennish took advantage diving to the inside. As the two came out of turn two, Bennish took the lead fending off Pyburn for the win. Pyburn took second, Simonis third, Brian Weinfurter fourth and Randy Emmerich fifth.

Young Adam Eckes led the first few laps of an exciting 4-Cylinder feature. Lap two the only caution flew for Rob Barthen spun in turn two. Eckes led the restart with Steve Hauser second, Erin Schlough third, Dylan Hockin fourth and JJ Flick fifth. Hauser assumed the led from Eckes on lap four, as the field fought for position behind him sometimes four wide. Dan McGiveron was wasting no time advancing his position. By lap seven he was in second and setting his sites on the lead. McGiveron drove into turn one driving his way around the Hauser machine to take the lead. Kevin Eckes was right there as well. As soon as McGiveron had cleared Hauser’s car, Eckes began working on taking second. Eckes was successful on grabbing second for the white flag lap, but he was unable to challenge McGiveron for the lead. McGiveron won his first 4-Cylinder feature ever. Eckes second, Flick was able to pull head at the checkered to grab third, Hauser fourth and Schlough fifth.

The 1-Man Cruiser feature’s first two laps were led by Tim Dickman. Cody Meyer then took charge of the lead and won for another clean sweep. Dickman finished second, Wayne Dietz third and Mike Denny fourth.

Next Saturday May 28 is Sternweis & Sons Night at the races. FREE Grandstand admission to all Scouts in uniform. Pits open at 3:30, stands 5 p.m., qualifying 6 p.m. and racing 7:30. Race divisions include Limited Late Models, Super Stocks, 4-Cylinders, and 1-Man Cruisers. Rain dated for Sunday, May 29, two hours earlier. Marshfield Super Speedway is located 3.5 miles west of Marshfield on County Road H with weekly Saturday night stock car racing April through September. Adult grandstand admission $10.00, Students ages 10-15 yrs. $5.00 and under 10 yrs FREE with a parent. Family Ticket is $25.00 (includes 2 adult tickets + unlimited students & children).

Everyone 16 yrs and older may sign up FREE every race night to win the 2005 Ford Mustang Pace Car!

Saturday, June 4th is the Merle Weinfurter Memorial. Sponsored by TJ’s Auto & 8th Street Auto of WI Rapids. Extra money added to the purse will make it $800 to win the Super Late Model feature, $150 to start. Plus Super Stocks, 4-Cylinders, and 1-Man Cruisers will be racing. $2.00 off adult admission flyers for this special are available to the fans at Marshfield Super Speedway, State Park Speedway and Golden Sands Speedway.

Super Late Model: Didn’t race
Limited Late Model: Matt Schulz 19.450
Super Stock: Cale Laessig 20.245
4-Cylinder: Greg Blount 22.460
1-Man Cruiser: Cody Meyer 24.080

CARQUEST Super Late Model
Heat 1:

Limited Late Model
Heat 1: Knoblock, Merriam, Hetzel, Benson, Sherfinski.

Heat 1: Raykowski, Meyer, Karl, Cournoyer, Simons.
Heat 2: Bennish, Laessig, Emmerich, Weinfurter, Simonis.

CWMSA 4-Cylinder
Heat 1: Berg, Brandl, Haring, Lueck, Metzler.
Heat 2: A. Eckes, Schlough, Hockin, Hauser, Stewart.
Heat 3: Flick, K. Eckes, McGiveron, Louze, Blount.

1-Man Cruiser
Heat 1: Meyer, T. Dickman, Dietz, Denny.

4-Cylinder: Berg, Brandl, Haring, Metzler, D. Elmhorst, Lueck, Nawrocki.

Super Late Model:

Limited Late Model: Knoblock, Merriam, Benson, Duberstein, Hetzel.

Super Stock: Bennish, Pyburn, Simonis, Weinfurter, Emmerich, Meyer, Zvolena, Raykowski, Karl, Simons.

4-Cylinder: McGiveron, K. Eckes, Flick, Hauser, Schlough, Louze, Blount, Eckes, Hockin, Berg.

1-Man Cruiser: Meyer, T. Dickman, Dietz, Denny.