Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

Menard & Laessig Feature Winners

Posted under Race Reports by Chris Budzban on June 6th, 2004

By Mary Langreck

June 6, 2004; Marshfield, WI: – After only Super Stock qualifying was finished Saturday night, the rains came and cancelled the evening race plans postponing them to Sunday. Sunday was a beautiful day for racing and the program was started over entirely. Charlie Menard made his first appearance here this season and set quick time with his Super Late Model. Cale Laessig wrapped up another fast time in the Supers and Keith Wirtz with a repeat in the 4-Cylinders.

John Totzke Jr. led the first half of the CARQUEST Super Late Model feature. Josh Bell raced in second with Elliott Weiler, Rory Melbinger and Ben Pettis all chasing the lead. Judd Brandl worked his way into the top five by lap four. Weiler passed Bell for the second spot on lap eight. Fast timer Charlie Menard came from the back to the front in a hurry and was looking for the third spot by lap eight. Lap ten he drove past Bell for third and then passed Weiler for second on lap 11. Menard then overtook Totzke for the lead on lap 13. The caution flew on lap 14 for the spun car of Bell, Brian Back’s car was collected also, neither driver was able to return. Menard resumed as the lead, Weiler got by Totzke for second, and lap 16 Brandl passed Totzke for third. Jeff Weinfurter drove to the front and began challenging Brandl for third. Weinfurter was able to pass Brandl but was unable to reel in Weiler to challenge for second. Menard won, Weiler second, Weinfurter third, Brandl fourth and Totzke fifth.

The first lap of the CARQUEST Super Stock feature was led by Chad Scholl. Wayne Meyer led the next two laps and then Larry Schultz took the lead. As Schultz tried to stretch out his lead, Tim Hintz, Randy Emmerich and Cale Laessig were all charging through the field. Hintz drove into second on lap nine and then Emmerich moved up to third on lap ten. Lap 15, Emmerich and Laessig passed Hintz for second and third. Lap 17 Emmerich took the lead from Schultz. Laessig passed Schultz the next lap and began challenging Emmerich for the lead. Emmerich inside and Laessig outside battled for the first spot over the next three laps. As the two came out of turn four for the checkered, they had contact and Emmerich’s car spun. Emmerich took the blame for the accident, allowing Laessig to keep his spot and take the win. Schultz finished second, Hintz third, Meyer fourth and Matt Raykowski fifth.

Rob Barthen led the first two laps of the 4-Cylinder feature. Paul Berg led the next 11 laps. Kevin Eckes raced through the field trying to chase down Berg to take the lead. Jeremiah Strauss held strong in the third spot with Erin Schlough fourth and Barthen fifth. At the white flag, Eckes overtook Berg for the lead. Eckes won, Berg second, Strauss fourth and Schlough fifth.

The 2-Man Cruiser race was won by Dickman and Heath. Szymkowiak and Pionek finished a close second, and Boyer and Clark third.

Next Saturday’s racing sponsored by St. Joseph’s Hospital and Nelson-Jameson includes CARQUEST Super Late Models, CARQUEST Super Stocks, 1-Man Cruisers plus the Modifieds will be here with their first race in years at this speedway. Pit Gate opens at 3:30, Grandstand Gates 5 p.m., Time Trials 6 p.m. and Racing 7:30. Saturday’s race is raindated for Sunday Same Times.

Tuesday, June 15 is the Annual MACCI Business After 5 Race Night. Pit Gates open at 3:30, Grandstand Gates 5 p.m., Time Trials 6 p.m. and Racing 7:30. Racing includes CARQUEST Super Late Models, 4-Cylinders and 1-Man Cruisers. NASCAR driver Scott Wimmer will also be visiting for an autograph session. The MACCI Business After 5 race is raindated for Wednesday, June 16, same times.

For complete RACESTAT Computer Results Click Here

CARQUEST Super Late Models: Charlie Menard 17.755
CARQUEST CWSSA Super Stocks: Cale Laessig 20.576
CWMSA 4-Cylinders: Keith Wirtz 22.309
1-Man Cruisers: Didn’t race

CARQUEST Super Late Models
Heat 1: Sauter, Bell, Mackesy, Totzke, E. Weiler.
Heat 2: LaPointe, Melbinger, Pettis, Weinfurter, Menard.

Heat 1: Klueckman, Scholl, W. Meyer, Hetzel, Stanley.
Heat 2: Havlicek, Emmerich, Raykowski, Laessig, Hintz.

CWMSA 4-Cylinders
Heat 1: W. Elmhorst, Dalsky, Deven Adams, D. Elmhorst, Barthen.
Heat 2: Berg, K. Eckes, Wirtz, Strauss, McGiveron.

1-Man Cruisers
Heat 1: Didn’t race

CARQUEST Super Late Model: Menard, E. Weiler, Weinfurter, Brandl, Totzke, LaPointe, Melbinger, Sauter, Pettis, Kempf.

CARQUEST CWSSA Super Stock: Laessig, Schultz, Hintz, Meyer, Raykowski, Zvolena, Scholl, Hetzel, Stanley, Emmerich.

CWMSA 4-Cylinder:

1-Man Cruiser: Didn’t race

2-Man Cruiser: Dickman & Heath, Szymkowiak & Pionek, Boyer & Clark, Koplien & Zopfi, Heggebo & Hoyfer.