Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

Second 2008 Eve Better Yet

Posted under Race Reports by Chris Budzban on June 14th, 2008

By Mary Langreck

June 14, 2008; Marshfield, WI: – The Quality Roofing, Nasonville Dairy & Weber’s Farm Store, WDEZ 101.9FM and WIFC 95.5FM was four hours of smash ‘em crash ‘em entertainment.

Cody Cavanaugh from Neenah, WI returned to kick off the evening’s events. Thrilling the fans once more with his high flying motocross tricks. At the end of his second set, Cody nailed the backflip in excellent fashion, giving the fans the grand finale.

The Freestyle Burn Out contest was up next, where competitors are allowed to burn for 30 seconds on the front stretch. Participants put on their best smoke show for the crowd, while continuing to keep their vehicle constantly moving. Cheers from the crowd decide the winner of the contest. Cory Soczka of Edgar in his 1979 Monte Carlo and tires that put down blue smoke was the biggest crowd pleaser and winner of the burn out contest.

On to the bus races where the smashing begins. Only a quarter of a lap into the race, Mark Katzenberger got into the back corner of the Feltz bus piloted by Fran Esser. Katzenberger pushed the bus through the corner and right over onto its side. Esser was okay, but was unable to continue in the race as the drive shaft had been broken from the bus. When the race restarted after some track clean up, it was a very close battle between John Strasser and Ryan Pribbernow. They jockeyed back and forth over the lead, using all the racing grooves out there. After navigating some lapped traffic, Pribbernow dove into the inside of turn three making the pass stick through the final turns of the race. Pribbernow won, Strasser second, Ron Wells third, Mark Katzenberger fourth and Jeff Rasmussen fifth.

After a hard fought tire race, Josh Jennejohn of Wausau was the winner. Jennejohn proved to be the best at this game where you try to remove the opponents tire while keeping your own.

The Spin To Win race is two laps around the 1/2 mile track with a 360 degree spin on the frontstretch in between the laps. Winning the full framed race was Tim Phillips from Medford. John Strasser of Stratford won the first car heat race and then went on to win the feature. Cory Patterson of Athens and Perry Schultz of Marshfield were the winners of heats two and three.

The Double O Last Man Race, is first lap big track, second lap small track, big track third lap, fourth lap small track etc. Each lap completed, big or small track, the last man to cross the start/finish line is eliminated from the race until we declare a winner. The full framed competition was won by Andy Felix of Edgar. The car heat races were won by Blaine Burt of Marshfield, Kyle Rasmussen of Arpin, Cory Patterson and Perry Schultz. Patterson then won the feature race.

The forward/backward race was one lap around the big track, then two laps in reverse around the small track. The full framed race was won by Perry Schultz. In the cars, heat winners were Nick Weber of Stratford, Jerome Literski of Wausau and Perry Schultz winning heat three and the feature.

The Double O 2nd Over The Line Race, is run as first lap big track, second lap small track. 2nd car to cross start/finish line advances to feature race. Another game of cat and mouse as usually someone ends up being pushed against their will over the start finish line. The full framed winner was Tim Phillips. Nick Weber won the first heat, Rob Johnson of WI Rapids the second, Jerome Literski the third heat. In a very exciting and close feature finish, Weber was victorious.

The best decorated trailer contest and the four foot trophy to go with it was won by Jonny Schultz of Marshfield.

The point of the trailer race is to remove opponents trailer while keeping your own. Once your trailer is gone, you are eliminated from the race. The full framed trailer race was won by Perry Schultz after a valiant effort by Mark Katzenberger to take Schultz’s trailer. The car trailer race was won by Joe Sazama of Eland.

Specialty fireworks closed out the evenings events with another one of their great fireworks displays.Don’t miss the final Eve of 2008 on Saturday September 20th. Pits will open at 1 pm, Stands at 3 pm,
Show at 5 pm.

Next Saturday night June 21st, A&B Process Systems and 107.5FM present super late models, motorcycle, junkyard warriors and pure stocks. Pit gates open at 3:30, grandstand gates open at 5 pm, Miller Lite time trials at 6 pm, racing starts at 7:30. Marshfield Super Speedway is located 3.5 miles west of Marshfield on County Road H with weekly Saturday night stock car racing April through September. Adult grandstand admission is just $10.00, Students ages 10-15 yrs. $5.00 and under 10 yrs FREE with a parent. The family ticket is $25.00 (includes two adult tickets and unlimited students).

The kids bicycle races presented by Gold Medal Trailer Sales-Merrill, Asphalt Maintenance Service, and Target-Marshfield return on Saturday, June 21st, more info on participating can be found at

June 21st is Hometown Night At The Races for Neillsville, Granton, Fairchild, Osseo, Black River Falls,
Humbird, Merrillan, Willard. Any race fan from any town listed for June 21st, will be able to show their picture ID that states they live in one of those towns, and receive FREE admission to that night’s races.

Everyone 16 yrs and older may sign up FREE every race night to win the Dodge Caliber pace car. Sponsored by: WDEZ 101.9, Brickner Chrysler-Wausau, Abby Gas Service, Cellcom and Subway.