Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

Weinfurter Wins Super Late Feature at Marshfield

Posted under Race Reports by Chris Budzban on May 6th, 2005

By Mary Langreck

May 6, 2005; Marshfield, WI: – With rain ending late afternoon, the Nasonville Dairy & Weber’s Farm Stores night full show was completed. Eugene Gregorich Jr. with a new car for the ’05 season and first night out set fast time in the Super Lates. Bo Bennish was quick timer in the Super Stocks, and Kevin Eckes Sr. in the 4-Cylinders. Cody Meyer made a clean-sweep in the 1-Man Cruisers.

The 25 lap CARQUEST Super Late Model contest was led by Jay VanDerGeest in the opening laps. Jeff Weinfurter then took the lead from him and began to stretch it out. Eugene Gregorich Jr. wasn’t about to let Weinfurter get away. Gregorich reeled Weinfurter in and then tried to pass him on the outside with no avail. Gregorich then worked the inside groove pulling up along side Weinfurter, but unable to get ahead of him.

Last week’s feature winner Ben Pettis was right there in the third spot waiting for his chance at the lead as well. Gregorich continued to work on taking the lead from Weinfurter. Lap 21, the caution flew for Tom Gibbons in turn two. Gregorich and John Totzke Jr., unable to avoid Gibbons machine both slammed into him and sustaining heavy damage. All three drivers were unharmed, but neither able to continue the race. Weinfurter was able to fend of Pettis for the win, Pettis second, John Frazier third, Rick Grunden fourth and VanDerGeest fifth.

The CARQUEST Super Stock feature was mostly led by Brian Weinfurter. Tim Plowman quickly moved up into the second spot with Andy Simonis and Bo Bennish in hot pursuit of the lead. Simonis was able to make the pass on Plowman for second. Only one lap later Bennish drove into Plowman spinning him out, but Bennish took the blame and gave Plowman his spot back.

Weinfurter now lost the lead he had stretched out, Simonis held second with Cale Laessig fast in third. Laessig got ahead of Simonis for a lap, but Simonis grabbed back the second spot. At the white flag Simonis edged ahead of Weinfurter for the lead. It was right down to the wire and Simonis pulled ahead of Weinfurter for the win. Weinfurter took second, Laessig third, Plowman fourth and Bennish worked his way back up to fifth.

The 4-Cylinder semi-feature was won by Ricky Brandl and second to John Lietz who both moved up into the feature event.

The first lap of the 4-Cylinder feature was led by Rob Barthen. Lap two was led by Paul Berg. As Berg led the field down the backstretch he spun out, bringing out the first yellow flag. Don Dunow who had been running second, assumed the lead for the restart. Dunow led the next six laps until Greg Blount made the pass for the lead. Fast timer Kevin Eckes Sr. raced his way into the third spot with Steve Hauser and Jeremiah Strauss fifth. Blount led the field for the win, Dunow second, Eckes third, Dale Louze fourth and Steve Hauser fifth.

The 1-Man Cruisers were led the first two laps by Dave Knauf. Cody Meyer then took the lead for the win. Knauf held out for second, Tim Dickman third, Justin Moore fourth and Pat Dickman fifth.

Next Saturday May 14, is Sternweis & Sons Night at the races. Pits open at 3:30, stands 5 p.m., qualifying 6 p.m. and racing 7:30. Race divisions include Super Late Models, Super Stocks, Motorcycles, IMCA Oldtimers and 1-Man Cruisers. No rain date. Marshfield Super Speedway is located 3.5 miles west of Marshfield on County Road H with weekly Saturday night stock car racing April through September. Adult grandstand admission $10.00, Students ages 10-15 yrs. $5.00 and under 10 yrs FREE with a parent. Family Ticket is $25.00 (includes 2 adult tickets + unlimited students & children).

Everyone 16 yrs and older may sign up FREE every race night to win the 2005 Ford Mustang Pace Car!



Super Late Model: Eugene Gregorich Jr. 17.980

Limited Late Model: Didn’t race

Super Stock: Bo Bennish 20.444

4-Cylinder: Kevin Eckes Sr. 22.384

1-Man Cruiser: Cody Meyer 23.689


CARQUEST Super Late Model

Heat 1: Weinfurter, Pettis, VanDerGeest, Totzke, Grunden.


Heat 1: Weinfurter, Meyer, Hetzel, Karl, Simons.

Heat 2: Plowman, Emmerich, Simonis, Laessig, Bennish.

CWMSA 4-Cylinder

Heat 1: Lietz, Elmhorst, Metzler, Conant, Nawrocki.

Heat 2: Brandl, Berg, D. Hauser, Stewart, Hockin.

Heat 3: S. Hauser, K. Eckes, Blount, Louze, McGiveron.

1-Man Cruiser

Heat 1: Meyer, Moore, Knauf, Dietz, Denny.


4-Cylinder: R. Brandl, Lietz, Lueck, Metzler, Elmhorst, Nawrocki, Todd, Karl, Conant, Schlough.


Super Late Model: Weinfurter, Pettis, Frazier, Grunden, VanDerGeest, Hintz, Gregorich, Totzke, Gibbons, Gress.

Limited Late Model:

Super Stock: Simonis, Weinfurter, Laessig, Plowman, Bennish, Zvolena, Emmerich, Meyer, Curnoyer, Hetzel.

4-Cylinder: Blount, Dunow, K. Eckes, Louze, S. Hauser, A. Eckes, Strauss, Berg, D. Hauser, Hockin.

1-Man Cruiser: Meyer, Knauf, T. Dickman, Moore, P. Dickman, Dietz, Denny, Hoeper.