Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

Weinfurter Wraps Up Another Super Late Victory

Posted under Race Reports by Chris Budzban on August 2nd, 2003

August 2, 2003; Marshfield, WI: – CARQUEST Night at the races was threatened with rain, but fortunately the rains never came. Judd Brandl was fast timer again in the CARQUEST Super Lates, CARQUEST Super Stock point leader Tim Plowman fast again. Paul Berg set fast time in the 4-Cylinders and Travis Zvolena in the 1-Man Cruisers.

The CARQUEST Super Late Model feature ran green to checkered. Russ Weiler took the early lead from his pole position start. Weiler began to pull away from the field as Dave Cabelka held the second spot. Jay VanDerGeest raced third with Eric Wisz and Wayne Mackesy fourth and fifth. On lap four, DuWayne Davis moved up and took the fifth spot from Mackesy and the next lap took fourth from Wisz.

Lap seven, Jeff Weinfurter over took Wisz for fifth. Lap by lap, Weinfurter would gain a position and was in second place looking to take the lead on lap 12. Weinfurter had to reel in Weiler as he had gotten a substantial lead on the field. Weinfurter caught and passed Weiler to lead the final five laps. Weinfurter won, LaPointe passed Weiler for second on the white flag lap, Drost got by Weiler for third at the checkered. Weiler finished fourth and Cabelka fifth.

The CARQUEST & Coca-Cola Super Stock feature also raced with no cautions. Wayne Meyer led the first three laps, Matt Raykowski the next one. Jim Cormack then took charge for two laps until Tim Hintz took over for the win. Hintz took the lead with Cormack second, Raykowski third, Larry Schultz fourth and Meyer fifth. Kyle Davis took the fifth spot from Meyer on lap eight. Brian Weinfurter and Randy Emmerich moved up to take fourth and fifth on lap 11. Weinfurter got around Schultz for third on lap 12. Davis came back for the fifth spot but lost it to Tim Plowman at the checkered. Hintz won, Cormack second, Weinfurter third, Emmerich fourth and Plowman fifth.

The CWMSA 4-Cylinder feature was led by Torey Nitzsche as she took the lead from her pole position start. The caution came out for Gary Wierzba as his car died on the front stretch. The caution flew again for Doug Adams as he also had mechanical failure. When the race resume Nitzsche held the lead with Erin Schlough, Steve Hauser, Paul Berg and Jason Bell the top five. Bell passed Berg and Hauser for third on lap eight. Berg then passed Hauser for fourth the next lap. Nitzsche won, Schlough second, Bell third, Berg fourth and Hauser fifth. Berg was disqualified after failing post race inspection.

Randy Meyer led the entire 1-Man Cruiser feature with Travis Zvolena second. Steve Bores finished third, Nick Klimpke fourth and Pat Dickman fifth.

The winner of the Wal-Mart bicycle was Nick Wodlarski of WI Rapids.

Join us again next Saturday for the second Wisconsin Challenge Series Event. Grandstand gates open at 5 p.m., Miller Time Trials at 6 p.m. and racing starts at 7:30.

Next Saturday’s events are sponsored by the Marshfield News-Herald, WI Rapids Tribune and the Stevens Point Journal. Racing includes Super Late Models, Legends and 1-Man Cruisers. Marshfield Super Speedway is located 3.5 miles West of Marshfield on County Trunk H.