Marshfield Motor Speedway LLC

Weinfurter Wraps Up Winning Weekend at Marshfield

Posted under Race Reports by Chris Budzban on June 12th, 2004

By Mary Langreck

June 12, 2004; Marshfield, WI: – St. Joseph’s Hospital and Nelson-Jameson night proved to be an action packed night of racing. Judd Brandl was the Super Late quick timer with Cale Laessig taking the top honors in the Supers. Roy Aitchison grabbed the fast time in the Modifieds and Pat Dickman in the 1-Man Cruisers.

The first four laps of the CARQUEST Super Late Model feature were led by John Totzke Jr. Brian Back then took the lead as Jeff Weinfurter and fast timer Judd Brandl raced to the front. The first caution flew on lap eight for the spun car of Eugene Gregorich Jr. When the race resumed, Back held the lead, but Weinfurter and Brandl were both passed the second place car of Totzke on the outside. Dean LaPointe had also worked his way forward from his fifth row starting spot and took fourth from Totzke on lap ten. Weinfurter quickly began his challenge to Back for the lead and pulled ahead of him on the outside. Lap 12 the caution flew a final time for the spun car of Kyle Davis. Weinfurter continued strong with lead, Back second, Brandl third, LaPointe fourth and Jim Sauter Jr. fifth. Weinfurter took home the win, Back second, Brandl third, LaPointe fourth and Sauter fifth.

Matt Raykowski led two laps of the CARQUEST Super Stock feature. Brian Schmutzer then led the next six. Randy Emmerich then took charge on lap nine, Schmutzer fell to second with Chad Scholl in a strong third. Larry Schultz, Cale Laessig and Tim Hintz all raced to the front for chance at the lead. Schultz was up to the fourth spot by lap nine. Lap 11, Scholl passed Schmutzer for second. The next lap Schultz passed Schmutzer for third. Hintz and Laessig had both broke into the top five at this point. Lap 14, Schultz and Hintz passed Scholl for second and third. Lap 15, Hintz passed Schultz for second, Laessig got by Scholl for fourth. Laessig then went on to passed Schultz for third on lap 16. At the white flag, Laessig was able to pass Hintz for second, but was able to go for the lead. Emmerich won, Laessig second, Hintz third, Schultz fourth and Scholl fifth.

The Modifieds returned tonight for a special scheduled event. Tim Hintz doing double duty led the first lap of the Mod feature. Jim Kulseth then took the lead as fast timer Roy Aitchison raced close behind. Aitchison was in second by lap four but it took him six more laps to take the lead away from Kulseth. Steven Schulz was holding a strong third throughout, James Burgess fourth and Paul Knauf fifth. Aitchison held off the field for the win, Kulseth second, Schulz third, Burgess fourth and Knauf fifth. Also a special thanks to T.A.R. Racecar Bodies for helping sponsor the Modified races.

Dave Knauf led the first four laps of the 1-Man Cruiser feature. Pat Dickman then took over for the win. Sam Sudduth finished second after a couple of strong runs at Dickman for the lead. Knauf third, Cournoyer fourth and Larsh fifth.

Tuesday, June 15 is the Annual MACCI Business After 5 Race Night. Pit Gates open at 3:30, Grandstand Gates 5 p.m., Time Trials 6 p.m. and Racing 7:30. Racing includes CARQUEST Super Late Models, 4-Cylinders and 1-Man Cruisers. NASCAR driver Scott Wimmer will also be visiting for an autograph session. No increase in admission prices! The MACCI Business After 5 race is raindated for Wednesday, June 16, same times.

Next Saturday’s racing is sponsored by Thomas Electric Service, Earth Inc., and WDLB/WOSQ. It’s the first of two Wisconsin Challenge Series races here at Marshfield, featuring a 75 lap Super Late Model feature, CARQUEST Super Stocks, Motorcycles and 2-Man Cruisers. Pit Gate opens at 2 p.m., Practice starts at 4 p.m., Grandstand Gates 5 p.m., Time Trials 6 p.m. and Racing 7:30. Saturday’s race is raindated for Sunday Same Times.

For complete RACESTAT Computer Results Click Here

CARQUEST Super Late Models: Judd Brandl 17.953
CARQUEST CWSSA Super Stocks: Cale Laessig 20.446
CWMSA 4-Cylinders: Didn’t race
Modifieds: Roy Aitchison 19.146
1-Man Cruisers: Pat Dickman 23.240

CARQUEST Super Late Models
Heat 1: Bell, Gress, Back, Totzke, K. Davis.
Heat 2: LaPointe, Pettis, Brandl, Weinfurter, Melbinger.

Heat 1: W. Meyer, R. Meyer, Stanley, Raykowski, Scholl.
Heat 2: Emmerich, Schultz, Laessig, Hintz, Zvolena.

Heat 1: Burgess, Aitchison, Kulseth, Oertel, Schulz.

CWMSA 4-Cylinders
Heat 1: Didn’t race
Heat 2:

1-Man Cruisers
Heat 1: P. Dickman, Sudduth, Knauf, Meyer, Larsh.

CARQUEST Super Late Model: Weinfurter, Back, Brandl, LaPointe, Sauter, Totzke, Gregorich, Melbinger, Bell, D. Davis.

CARQUEST CWSSA Super Stock: Emmerich, Laessig, Hintz, Schultz, Scholl, Zvolena, Schmutzer, Hetzel, R. Meyer, W. Meyer.

Modified: Aitchison, Kulseth, Schulz, Burgess, Knauf, Oertel, Bauer, Hintz.

CWMSA 4-Cylinder: Didn’t race

1-Man Cruiser: P. Dickman, Sudduth, Knauf, Cournoyer, Larsh, Moore, Meyer, Denny, Erdman, Garton.

2-Man Cruiser: Didn’t race